These are a Few of My Favorite Tools

11 Nov

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply pull out my favorite tools
And then I don’t feel so bad

I have a great many tools, but there are some tools I just cannot live without when wire weaving or wrapping (I have a completely different set of tools for fiber arts and precious metal clay).

When I started working with wire, I didn’t spend much money on pliers; I had a round nose and a bent nose, but no flat nose.  Since then, I’ve spent some money on a good pair of round nose pliers, and picked up two different flat nose pliers; these are the work horses of my tool bench:

Swanstrom Micro Round-Nose Pliers from Rio Grande, $34

Swanstrom Micro Round-Nose Pliers from Rio Grande, $34

Xuron 485FN Flat Nose Plier from Amazon, $14

Xuron 485FN Flat Nose Plier from Amazon, $14

Xuron 450 Tweezer Nose Plier from Amazon, $14

Xuron 450 Tweezer Nose Plier from Amazon, $14

With these pliers, I am finally able to start down-sizing my jewelry; I love big and bold, but I think most of the female population doesn’t feel the same, so I’m trying to make more dainty, delicate items, and these tools are critical.  With the Swanstrom pliers I am finally not leaving marks on my wire; why this is so, I couldn’t tell you.  I don’t think I applying less pressure, so it must be magic!  The Xuron pliers are also non-marring, and great for getting into tight places to place or end a wire.

Another staple in my tool chest are my shaping tools, the most important of which are my hands.  These tools see continual use, too.

Wrap n' Tap Pliers (Large) from Beadaholic, $30

Wrap n’ Tap Pliers (Large) from Beadaholic, $30

Wrap n' Tap Pliers (Small) from Beadaholic, $30

Wrap n’ Tap Pliers (Small) from Beadaholic, $30

15 Inch Wooden Round Bracelet Mandrel (1.5"-3") (sawed off baseball bat!) from Amazon, $24

15 Inch Wooden Round Bracelet Mandrel (1.5″-3″) (sawed off baseball bat!) from Amazon, $24

BeadSmith Six-Piece Wooden Mandrel Set with Storage Case from Beadaholic, $6

BeadSmith Six-Piece Wooden Mandrel Set with Storage Case from Beadaholic, $6

What are your favorite tools?toolsign

