Closer and Closer

8 Dec

Last night I created and assembled an anti-glare shield for each setting of my commission:

IMG_7012

There’s always a problem child, and I’ll have to sand the crap out of the lower left shield above.

IMG_6938

IMG_7015

The stone setting places will have to be cleaned out and deepened, and one of the back corners got rounded so it will have to be built up and then sanded down.

IMG_6981

Altogether they’re looking pretty fine.

Today, after doing more clean up and refinement, it was time to set the stones:

IMG_7021

The problem child, now on the lower left, has been much reduced in size and the arc, although not perfect, is much closer in shape to the other shields.

IMG_7027

I love these macro shots; I can see tiny areas that need smoothing that I simply cannot see, even with glasses and a magnifying lens!

IMG_7025

Depth of setting for the stones is exactly where it should be so the clay, as it shrinks, will snug itself over the rim of the stone and keep it securely in place.

IMG_7022

Look how the stones glow!  Beautiful!happysign

