Heartbroken by @Etsy

20 Nov

I saw these pretty gloves in an Etsy Finds email newsletter:

Under the photo was a link which read “Shop All Gloves & Mittens”, so I clicked it to see how far down in the pile my latest fingerless gloves appeared.

I got all the way to page 31 before I stopped looking because I was crying.  I have the flu and crying made it much worse.

My humiliation and sorrow were complete when I saw these mittens on pages 9, 13 and 15 (with one of those pages have 2 listings):

Maybe these are the best made, most luxurious gloves in the world, but you’d never know it by looking at the photograph.

Based on looks alone, I’m certain the quality, craftsmanship, and photography of my item below is vastly superior and should appear before the one above.

This is one of my better efforts, with crochet covered buttons to adjust sizing and a bit of bling to make up for rings and bracelets being hidden under the glove. My grandmother taught me to knit and crochet, and I am more than just a fair hand in this arena.

Once I could breath again I clicked the “Shop Location” button and entered Florida, USA.  A total of three pages of results was returned and, while my neon and mermaid gloves appeared on the first and second pages, my lovely dryad arm warmers — nowhere in sight.

I’m flummoxed.  I’m discouraged.  I feel defeated and ignored and trapped and discriminated.  I want to give up.  I hate the way Etsy search is conducted.  It makes little sense to me and the little sense I have is that it is grossly unfair.  Of course, I am pretty sick with fever and chills, so this is not the best time to be worrying about this, but I’m utterly confused and  my heart is completely broken with no hopes of being mended.

Thanks for making my miserable day worse, Etsy.

 

