Mermaid Fingerless Glove in Progress

1 Nov

As I’ve written lately, a whole lot of crocheting is going on in my head and out through my fingers (which are pretty darn sore!).

I went through my pouch/bag/purse phase and now I’m making fingerless gloves.  I’ve finished one of a set of two that has an ocean theme with turquoise, dark teal and lavender.  The upper part of the glove (the cuff, if you will) I did in shell stitches with “button holes” so it can be laced to the wearer’s size; it measures 7″.  The lower part of the glove that covers the back of the hand I did in crocodile stitches (it measures 3″).  The crocodile stitch is really beautiful and I chose it because it looks like fish scales.  The lacing is a turquoise leather string that I wish were longer.

Please let me know what you think of this no-pattern creation.

 

4 Responses to “Mermaid Fingerless Glove in Progress”

  1. mermaiden November 1, 2012 at 5:54 PM #

    i would choose this in a slip-on style, in black or charcoal. i would be able to wear them with my whole winter wardrobe! BUT, the ocean colors are beautiful- I just really don’t wear them in cold weather in my neck or the woods =)

  2. Kitty November 4, 2012 at 5:11 PM #

    I love the style of these! The colors are gorgeous, although I’m another wearer of black and dark colors. Is there a piece that goes between thumb and the rest of your fingers to keep it in place? When I wear cuffs that slide around on me when there’s a definite front and back, it drives me crazy having to rotate them back around all the time.

  3. Faerie♥Kat November 4, 2012 at 6:56 PM #

    Kitty, you have an excellent point regarding the thumb-hole. The first pair I made have a ring that fits over the middle finger and keeps the gloves in place in both directions. The mermaid gloves a laced, but don’t have a thumb-hole. The “scales” section is quite wide and, if laced tightly, they don’t move on me, but it is something to consider.

    I am so not neutral colors myself. Bright, bold and sassy make up my comfort zone; I must be some sort of exhibitionist!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to help me with this project.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Iris Faery – November 20 « Le Art Studio - November 20, 2012

    […] Mermaid Fingerless Glove in Progress (faeriekat.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.

