Beating the Averages

30 Sep

Immediately upon rehabilitating the photographs for my on-line boutique, The Dream Faire, I knew my shop was doing better, but how and how much I didn’t know.  Today I actually looked at the statistics (seeing as how it’s the end of the month) Etsy makes available to shop owners to see how much difference resulted from the new photographs:

Statistical Pool Prior Eleven Month Average Month of September Change
Shop Views 518 716 +38.2%
Item Views 1,952 1,921 -1.5%
Shop Favorites 18 14 -22.2%
Item Favorites 109 195 +78.8%
Number of Orders 3 6 +100%
Revenue X Y +68%

These statistics show that, although less people on average clicked that they liked my whole shop overall, more people than average clicked that they liked a specific item, a huge leap of 78%.

Although less people on average clicked that they liked my whole shop overall, more people than average viewed (i.e, visited) my shop, up by 38%.

The average number of items viewed during each shop visit in the prior eleven months has decreased this past month from 4 to 3; however, viewers liked more of the items they viewed on average.

The link between the increase in people clicking that they liked an item (up 78%) and the increase in the number of purchases (which doubled) is very obvious.

The statistics tracked by Etsy do not include the number of items in each order, and one of my six September orders was for 3 items, which really rocks my units sold.

Since the photographic changes were made on the item level, this definitely confirms that upgrading the photographs resulted in more people finding and liking my items, giving my revenue a big push of 68% more pennies.

It was a hard, time consuming effort to rephotograph over 130 items, but the numbers show it was definitely worth every agonizing minute!

