What Fiddling Around Can Get You

26 Sep

I am artistically challenged when it comes to drawing or sketching a jewelry design; in fact, I have no design talents whatsoever.  A few of the things I make are items created while learning a technique from a book or tutorial, but the majority happen by accident.  I call it organic design.  I fiddle around and sometimes this happens:

This is just a quick snapshot, and obviously I haven’t created a chain yet, and you can’t tell that the piece is molded to fit high around the neck and drape over the collarbone and sternum, but I’m so damn happy with the piece after 2 days of creating fugly earrings and having the only earrings that were a decent design turn out to have a mixed-match material error (used some scrap art wire instead of real copper wire for the base, and art wire doesn’t respond to liver of sulfur).  This piece has a red chalcedony onion briolette and a red teardrop druzy agate.  The patina is much lighter and warmer than this pic indicates, but the reds are shown beautifully.  And, oh, I re-made the earrings and they will be photographed and up for sale tomorrow; maybe this piece, too.

2 Responses to “What Fiddling Around Can Get You”

  1. mermaiden September 26, 2012 at 10:42 PM #

    sweet! i label myself “a self-taught experimentalist”, as i cannot transfer a design idea onto paper either.

  2. Kimberly September 27, 2012 at 12:00 AM #

    Ooh, gorgeous! I just love seeing the evolution of your art 😀 I didn’t think it had any room for improvement before but you just keep amazing me 😀

Comments are closed.

