Itty Bitty Boxes

15 Aug

I will start work on a silver precious metal clay (PMC) commission soon and I wanted to make an extra-special gift box for the client (and yes, I always eat dessert first!).

In my first attempt I worked with fresh polymer clay, which made creating straight lines and flat sides nearly impossible:

This design uses a pad of clay attached to the inside of the lid to make the lid stay in place.  Trying to get the pad both the right size and in the right place was a nightmare.  I fairly ruined the box trying to sand out the unevenness.

So I started experimenting with making a box with a lid that surrounding the top of the box and here’s the result:

The inner black lip on the bottom part of the box fits up inside the lid:

I made this box with waste clay, but I couldn’t help creating this little flower to top it off (all work/study and no play, not my style!):

Here is the new gift box (I just completed it and I still need to clean it up):

Here you can see that the top fits over and encompasses the bottom:

Here you can see the inner wall which allows the top to sit over the bottom:

And here is my trademark signature on the bottom:

It’s not perfect because polymer clay is flexible in its raw state before heating, which is usually a benefit, but which makes box making a tad difficult.  When I work with PMC, I can cut the six sides of the box, dry them to the rigid bone-dry stage, and then build the box with using lots of clay paste and slip.  No soft sagging walls to deal with!  I did cut and bake the interior polymer clay part of the last box, and glued the pieces together with superglue.  As a stand-alone construct it was very weak, but adding unbaked, textured layers provided the necessary stability (at the cost of less than perfect squares and lines).  Every type of clay (paper, polymer, epoxy, metal) has its own pros and cons; no getting around that!

For now I am pleased with the results achieved.  Next!

