Garden Story

8 Aug

I moved my tomatoes and bell peppers outside a few weeks ago because death was imminent.  No green fingers have I!  I leave all things green and growing to the Goddess, and if she kills it I don’t feel too bad.  A combination of more sun and cooler temperatures has not only saved the plants that Gary gave me, they have tripled in size!  Goddess bless!

The peppers are happily peppering:

And the tomatoes are getting tomatoey:

I had to add another rung to the bamboo cage, they have grown so high:

My green onions are doing better now that I’ve severely culled them:

My Birds of Paradise are showing off their glorious plumage:

Seedlings from my purple orchid tree have invaded the mondo grass:

And the mondo grass is blooming:

The wild flowers are now a good 2 feet higher than my head and completely hide the 6″ hibiscus nestled behind them in front of the fence:

The armadillo has once again decided to burrow under the Jacaranda tree, creating a mound of displaced earth and a nice big hole:

Other backyard guests are finding the hunting good….

And that living is easy!

2 Responses to “Garden Story”

  1. Marvin the Martian August 14, 2012 at 10:40 PM #

    Lovely lovely lovely garden! And such a plump happy spider! I miss our banana spiders. They were so huge. Until our neighbor sprayed poison all over his yard and managed to kill off our spiders.

    • Faerie♥Kat August 16, 2012 at 10:24 PM #

      I haven’t seen any banana spiders in my yard, but there are lots at my mother’s place; they are so cool to watch! I don’t know if it’s just pure laziness or if I really prefer nature to rampage unchecked (yeah, rampaging is good), but I have never sprayed my garden with pesticides. Killing off my faerie friends (and their friends) is definitely not a friendly thing! My philosophy is, if it can’t live without me fussing over it, it’s better off dead, but the Goddess usually looks after her own, so my yellow thumb is not too great a handicap. And, oh yeah, I’ve missed you (and my knight of the cornfields, too)!

Comments are closed.

