Wish Me a Bon Voyage

27 Apr

Because I’m sailing away on the tides of a house filled with water!

Just when I finished the faux granite counter tops and had treated myself to a single glass of wine in celebration, I got up to prepare another jug of ice water as I was getting ready to retire for the night, only to discover water in the pantry hallway just outside the master bedroom door.

Of course, my first thought was that the washing machine hose had broken because that is the next room, but no, the water was coming from under the guest bathroom sink, and it was about 3/8″ deep.  In between feeding myself and the dogs around 8:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m. when I was about to retire, the coupling broke loose from the cold water line and quickly flooded the guest bathroom, both guest bedrooms, the hallway connecting the three, the living room, the dining room, and the laundry room, and was making headway into the pantry closet.  Water had already crested the front door jamb, as well as the garage door jamb, and was wending its way to the street.  Fortunately, the water didn’t make it as far as either the breakfast nook (or art center), the kitchen, the master bedroom or its attached bath and closet.

My second thought, after shutting the water off, was to get the deluge out of the house and, using every available towel and a mop, I struggled for over an hour to unsink my tile floors, to little avail.  Then, thanks to Annette, I had more success with my old, decrepit and shedding push broom, but I had long before exceeded my body’s limit.  Then, again thanks to Annette, I had the phone number of a company whose sole business is to clean up messes like this, and I soon had assistance…until well after midnight.

They moved everything I hadn’t gotten yet off of the floors and even removed the carpeting in the two guest bedrooms.

Now I am surrounded by high-powered blowers and dehumidifiers that sound like jets taking off, and that are sucking up the electricity as fast as Florida Power makes it.  They’re also giving off intense amounts of heat and my air conditioning is completely defeated, with the temperature 10 degrees above what I usually find minimally comfortable, 78°F.  In other words, I am swimming in sweat!

I spent most of today with the insurance company’s adjuster and tomorrow the clean up crew will be back to start pulling warped molding and assessing the wetness in the walls, which the adjuster found to be very high using an electronic gadget.  I’m going to lose my guest bathroom vanity, but I hope that the carpenter can save the counter top I just finished with faux granite.

While I’m taking advantage of having everything in the closets now in the unflooded parts of my home and I’m going through everything ruthlessly, I have to say this is definitely not the best way to get my tile floors cleaned up!

One Response to “Wish Me a Bon Voyage”

  1. gt281 April 28, 2012 at 9:59 PM #

    water, water everywhere and not a rum to drink…

Comments are closed.

