Major Success, Minor Failure

13 Apr

I finished creating the faux granite countertop in my guest bathroom (now I just wait a day before replacing the caulk and another three days to let it cure before I place anything on it).  SQUEE!

Yep, I’m pretty darn proud of myself.  I only ran into two problems, both easily fixable:

  1. I whimped out when it came to taping off the left-hand wall.  Since there is a light switch and an electrical outlet an inch or so above the counter top, I didn’t put a second layer of the 3″ painter’s tape I used.  Should also have made the tape 6″ wide on the right back wall, too.  ‘Cuz I did get a bit of paint on the wall, being not precisely perfect.  I can’t imagine how Giani expects you to get by with two tiers of 1″ tape!
  2. Even though I used the lowest tack painters tape available, when I removed it from the walls, it took bits of the wall paint with it.  Since the paint was not semi or gloss (who paints bathroom or kitchen walls in flat paint?) and since it’s the original paint (going on 20 years now!), I was sort of expecting this to happen.

And speaking of 20 year old house paint, it’s obviously time to repaint–with semi-gloss!  The remodeling jobs seem to be breeding and multiplying.  Good thing I have a bit more energy and lots of free time, eh?

All in all, I’d have to say, “Not bad for an old crippled crone”.

One Response to “Major Success, Minor Failure”

  1. katsmama April 13, 2012 at 7:02 PM #

    that is so pretty- you are really creative!

Comments are closed.

