Clean for Spring!

19 Mar

With the arrival of spring here in Central Florida, my energy level has (finally!) increased.

A leak sprang up last week under the kitchen sink where I had an old osmosis water purifier.  Not only was the purifying system leaking, but the spray handle hose was caput and a small crack in the garbage disposal made an appearance.  I took out the water system (heavy!) and put a little bucket under the garbage disposal for now.

Rather than replace the separate spray assembly (since they’re all made of plastic now and I didn’t want to have to keep replacing it), I decided that a new kitchen faucet was needed.  I found this Delta stainless steel faucet with a pull-down spray head, and then pulled out the old faucet and sprayer head (myself!) and installed the new one (myself!).  I even had to do a “custom install” because the diameter of my water supply lines were different from the hoses supplied (fortunately, Delta anticipated this and gave ridiculously easy instructions even I could follow; they even provided the required gaskets (so tiny!)).  I am so pleased with myself it’s ridiculous, but ain’t it pretty?

The faucet came with a soap dispenser, which I put in the hole left by removal of water purification spigot, and I purchased a dispenser for hand cream to put in the spray head/hose hole.  Later on, as energy levels and funds allow, I plan to give the old laminate counter top a faux granite finish using Giani‘s paint kit in Sicilian Sand and put a darker stain on the cabinets (and I plan to refinish the counter tops and cabinets the same way in both the master and guest bathrooms).  Here’s a sample of what the faux granite finish may look like (I think I’ll go a tad darker and add white veining):

The faucet in the guest bathroom is nearly impossible to turn on, so I’m going to replace it with one of these later this week (I’ll install the same faucets in both the the master bath sinks next month):

So far I’ve gotten some great deals on the hardware and by doing the installations myself this remodeling won’t be too costly, but it will make a big difference in the appearance of my (almost) 20 year old home and help to keep its market value up.

Spring cleaning has never been so exciting!

4 Responses to “Clean for Spring!”

  1. Lisa March 19, 2012 at 10:41 PM #

    Kat

    Okay, how does the new “faucet” for the guest bath work? It just looks like a large pipe covered with a glass disk from which a small metal pipe protrudes. Since I was just there and know exactly how difficult the old faucet was … any change is a welcome improvement … but I can’t seem to figure out how the new one works.

    • Faerie♥Kat March 30, 2012 at 5:56 AM #

      Hi Lisa

      The bathroom faucet is called a waterfall faucet. The water is turned on by moving the joystick in the middle and the water flows out of the “pipe” and off the glass disk. Really beautiful, but unfortunately I had to send it back because the hole in the sink was 1/4″ too small! Who knew the “standard” size of the holes changed during the past 20-odd years. Since I wasn’t going to replace the basin, I had to switch gears and find a faucet that would fit my old sink. I’ll be posting about it soon.

      Hugz!

      Kat

  2. Amy March 20, 2012 at 9:23 AM #

    AWESOME!! I love a good “do it yourself” project. Empowering isn’t it??

    • Faerie♥Kat March 30, 2012 at 5:57 AM #

      I have to admit that it has been worth every little ounce of sweat (and so far I think I’ve sweated about a gallon!)…

Comments are closed.

