Life…and Death

9 Mar

Spring has arrived here in Central Florida.

The air is balmy and warm.

The birds are singing and building their nests.

Last year’s oak leaves are making way for bright green growth.

Flowers are blooming, a glorious celebration.

Amidst all of this riotous Life walks Life’s eternal companion, Death.

Who appeared yesterday and lured away my littlest darling, Teddie, aged 12 years and 8.5 months:

FOR TEDDIE

Within the heart of every dog,
No matter how little,
No matter how small,
Lives a giant, ten feet tall.

Within the eyes of every dog,
No matter how old,
No matter how young,
Lives endless love, pure and strong.

Within the soul of every dog,
No matter if living,
No matter if gone,
Lives the divine, an eternal song.

With all my heart, and tears and soul,
I mourn my dear Teddie,
My tiny giant, heart big as a whale,
Who waits for me, beyond the veil.

Goodbye, precious baby.

5 Responses to “Life…and Death”

  1. gt281 March 11, 2012 at 6:25 AM #

    Fortunately all dogs go to heaven—I’m sure that Teddie will be there when you check-in…

    • Faerie♥Kat March 12, 2012 at 10:16 AM #

      I know you’re right, but I sure do miss the cute things he’d do (like “The Teddie Dance” where he’d stretch out his back legs and paddle himself backwards using his front legs, his version of giving himself a belly-rub, and “The Teddie/Taco Wars” when he’d try to scare the daylights out of the chihuahuas, Taco and his easy-going mate Bell, that live in back of us, as long as they couldn’t actually see each other through the wooded fence) and his rum-go personality. He really was an excellent companion!

  2. Sandy March 12, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I know that pain is almost unbearable. But your have your priceless memories and photos. I’m sure your other babies will miss him too and even Taco and Bell. Love ya.

  3. SouthernBelleOOAk March 13, 2012 at 3:10 AM #

    It is never easy to lose such a good friend. I am so sorry to hear your sadness . The time they spend with us is so short and yet so sweet. I lost one of mine this year, so I understand

    • Faerie♥Kat March 19, 2012 at 11:47 AM #

      Thank you, my sweet southern belle. It was a difficult choice, but it was the right one…for him…and that’s what really counts.

Comments are closed.

