More on My Tragic TurboTax Tale

24 Feb

One thing that really bugs me about the theft of my 2011 IRS tax return information is that the IRS allows taxpayers to re-set the electronic PIN required to send a return electronically.  According to TurboTax, this “out” or “fix” is for people who forget their five-digit PIN; just use zero in the first position of the PIN and you can then change the next four digits to anything you want.

This is another critical piece of data necessary to filing your 2011 taxes.  I discovered this little loophole when TurboTax told me that the bogus return was first rejected because of an incorrect PIN, and then was subsequently accepted later that same day when the thief changed the PIN as described above.

How stupid is this?!  Can you imagine how identity theft crimes would skyrocket if the PIN for your debit card/ATM card could be “fixed” in this way?  Let’s just pull the scab off, and let the lunatics and idiots who created this loophole for the IRS run the damn world.

BTW, once your tax identity has been stolen, the IRS issues you an Identity Protection PIN that you put in the SIGN HERE section of your return.  I hope the IP PIN doesn’t have the same crappy loophole as the regular PIN.

Yeesh!

UPDATE 2013:  Click here for informaton regarding security improvements.

4 Responses to “More on My Tragic TurboTax Tale”

  1. Spazykitten February 25, 2012 at 10:26 AM #

    I am very sorry that this happened to you. It is sad that there are people out there that would do a hideous act like this. I disagree with you about being Turbo Tax’s fault. One of the main reasons that many people are upset right now is because the IRS stopped processing efiles. The program they have that catches identity fraud had glitches and fatal errors. There are even rumors that the IRS has been hacked. Turbo Tax has to by law admit that they have been hacked but the IRS does not. I feel for you and your situation. Its a really crappy thing to do but putting the blame on the wrong company is a real crappy thing to do too.
    Many people are blaming Tax software and pretty much anything to do with these delayed taxes. The IRS is not taking any blame for it. I think you should be mad at the IRS.
    I am very glad that they are helping you get your identity fixed though.
    Here’s my last thought. The IRS gets hacked or knows there is a problem but blames the victim and let’s companies dealing with them take the blame for their short comings, even goes as far as to suing the victim and the companies. Who’s the true thief?

  2. Marvin the Martian February 27, 2012 at 8:36 PM #

    What’s sad is that one set of thieves (the IRS) has created the structure for you to be victimized AGAIN by another set of thieves.

  3. Thomas N. Johnson III April 3, 2012 at 5:55 PM #

    I understand where the original poster is coming from however I had my Tax Identity comprimised for the 2011 tax year as well but it didn’t happen via Turbo Tax. Yes the IRS is assisting me in recovery issues, but I don’t feel that Tax software is to blame. Any one that uses the internet to process their tax returns, should know that there is not a 100% guarantee that your information is safe. With this said, you should truly go to a reputable Tax Preparation service like Jackson Hewitt. THey are great and worked with my issues to utmost professionalism.

    • Faerie♥Kat April 4, 2012 at 9:56 AM #

      I take it that you still haven’t received your 2011 tax year refund…even with paid professional assistance. How discouraging. My tax theft was because of TurboTax software, in collusion with the IRS, because the IRS allows you to input five zeros in place of your correct PIN (in case you forgot it, or if you’re a thief who doesn’t have that particular piece of info). If your taxes are submitted electronically by a paid tax preparation service, a thief can steal your info from them just as easily as from TurboTax. My point is that the ONLY site that had all three correct pieces of personal information about me was TurboTax (unless the thief hacked every hospital in Florida, the only other large institution that conceivably has my name, SSN and DOB).

      I hope you will return and tell us how your situation was resolved.

Comments are closed.

