Misery Loves Company

1 Jan

Times were tough this past December.

I contracted sepsis on December 11th and was hospitalized until December 27th.

Sunday evening I suddenly experienced:

  • Chills
  • Decreased urine output
  • A fever of 104.3°F
  • Light-headedness due to low blood pressure
  • Rapid heart beat
  • Muscle and joint pain
  • Vomiting

It was a delightful trip to the emergency room, as I’m sure you can imagine.  My step-mother (bless her heart) drove me in the rain at night to the ER 45 minutes away, and then visited and cared for my Yorkshire terriers on her way to and from work while I was hospitalized.  I was in ICU for several days, and fortunately did not experience either kidney or lung failure, or death from septic shock.  They did hit me up with some awful corticosteroids that ballooned my body painfully with 60 lbs. of retained fluid.

Exactly where the infection began is unknown, but two possibilities are (1) in my subcutaneous access port, also called an implantable port or Mediport, which I use every other day to give myself home IV infusions of Cinryze to control my Hereditary Angio Edema, or (2) the passing of the kidney stone I didn’t have the money to have removed before it could cause trouble. My Mediport was removed and a new PowerPort (which allows the port to be used for CT scan contrast infusion) was inserted a few days later.  CT scans and sonograms showed no stones remaining in either kidney.

Living alone never scared me before, and my reluctance to keep my local friends apprised of my health concerns (I just can’t impose on their already busy and complicated lives, and besides, sickness is BORING) narrows the number of people I feel comfortable calling on for help.  My step-mother, Annette, and my retired friend, Bob, have been total gems, and yet I feel guilty accepting their help because I have no way to reciprocate.

So Yuletide came and went without my even knowing, so happily drugged was I on intravenous Dilaudid.  I’m home now on bed rest and IV antibiotics until January 3rd, and am fervently hoping 2012 will not see a repeat of this horrible contagion.

I also wish a Happy New Year to all my readers; may the Goddess hold us in her healing hands and create new opportunities for joy and happiness.

3 Responses to “Misery Loves Company”

  1. Betty L. Derry January 1, 2012 at 2:33 PM #

    Oh, Kat, I am so sorry that you had to endure such a scary situation but so happy you are now home and on the mend. Knowing that Annette and Bob will look in on you from time to time is reassuring; This is one more time I wish I could be of more help to you. Just know that you are in my heart, thoughts and prayers, my favorite Niece in Florida! Love you to pieces! Auntie Betty Lou

  2. Faerie♥Kat January 1, 2012 at 3:14 PM #

    Thank you, Auntie! I love you more than I can express.

  3. Elizabeth Andrews January 30, 2012 at 10:51 AM #

    Hi sorry to hear you’ve been ill, having suffered from ill health myself for years I know how depressing it can be but I did find that people i.e family and friends were always so willing to help that it was a great relief to be able to ask. So if you are ill again don’t be afraid to ask! I’m sure your friends would be all to pleased to help and to be asked! love and best wishes Elizabeth

Comments are closed.

