More Watercolor Explorations

9 Dec

Using photographic references, I drew, traced and painted 3 new watercolors.  These were great practice in terms of drawing and working with my choice of pigments, but only proved to me I am on the wrong track.

This rose is 8¼” x 5½”; I am pleased with how the leaves developed, but the shading on the light parts of the rose and the crispness of the curled edges are disappointing:

Here it is side-by-side with the photo reference I used:

This rose is 5½” x 3″; I’m happier with how I rendered the petals of this rose, but the background leaves a bit to be desired.  However, I will probably use it to create my first small notepad folder and offer it for sale in my Etsy boutique:

Here it is side-by-side with the photo reference I used:

Although this poppy bud didn’t scan very well, I am by far happiest with how it turned out:

Here it is side-by-side with the photo reference I used:

I have 3 sheets of paper left on the watercolor block I’ve using (and all of these paintings were done on a single sheet), but I don’t know what I’ll do next.  Flowers really aren’t my thing, although that’s all I’ve ever painted (even when young).  I need to think about what subject I really want to explore, and that would be saleable as folder covers.

3 Responses to “More Watercolor Explorations”

  1. grumple December 14, 2011 at 2:51 PM #

    I think your green rosebud watercolour is beautiful, and the others are great also, but the bud is the one that I like the most hehe x

  2. grumple December 14, 2011 at 2:53 PM #

    Of course I meant Poppy Bud* my apologies, it has been a long day.

  3. Faerie♥Kat January 1, 2012 at 12:13 PM #

    Thank you, Grumple! I’ve been very ill and your comment(s) made me smile!

Comments are closed.

