Tale of the Mermaid Tail Halted

7 Oct

I hemmed and I hawed, and I looked and I thought about this Zentangle® Inspired Art (ZIA) watercolor, trying to decide what I wanted to do next, and ultimately decided that I had to start over.

Yeah, sucks.

First, I didn’t use watercolor paper.  Sometimes you can get away with a good quality drawing paper; this time I couldn’t.  I hate having to wet and stretch (and wait) for a sheet of watercolor paper to dry overnight before I can get down to business, but that’s the way watercolor cake crumbles.  Yep, I’m impatient and lazy.

Second, there was way too much shimmer.  Can you believe I just wrote that?  You gotta know if there was too much shimmer for me, the ultimate “make it shinier and add more glitter” faerie queen, it was a huge problem.  I’ll still be using my pearlescent watercolors, there will just be a lot less of it and I’ll use them as they were probably intended, to highlight.

Third, the black Sakura ink was…were?  Totally hidden.  All my careful tangling was for naught if it couldn’t be seen.  On the do-over, I’m going to rough in the outlines of the major features and lay down the watercolor first, then I’ll ink in the detailed tangles, like I did on this ZIA tile.

I’ve also changed the design so there are less small plants and critters in the lower part, giving me more open space to tangle, plus now I don’t have to deal with the “ground” because the horny coral (left) and the anemone (right) run off the painting:

The Tale of the Mermaid's Tail

I am exhausted.

The Zentangle® art form and method was created by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas. Zentangle® is a registered trademark of Zentangle, Inc. Learn more at zentangle.com.
