New ZIA In-Progress

4 Oct

This is the Zentangle® Inspired Art (ZIA) I’m working on that will become the frontispiece for a new notepad folder to be sold in my on-line boutique:

The Mermaid's Tail

The next step is color.  Strictly speaking, Zentangles are black and white with shading; i.e., no color.  That’s why this is a ZIA; it’s “inspired by” the Zentangle technique.

I’ll be using a new set of pearlescent watercolors that are…brilliant and dreamy.  In fact, I started tonight.

I don’t use watercolors in the conventional method; I can, but I like to break the rules.  Instead of doing all the light colors and layering and layering from lighter to dark, some of the dark colors are going down first to be overlaid with a lighter color.  I don’t want to work wet-on-wet because the colors will blend too much, and laying the dark color down on a dried light color layer will not be blended enough.  Doing it “backwards” is the only answer.

This particular design was created in honor of Julie at Mermaiden Creations.

The Zentangle® art form and method was created by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas. Zentangle® is a registered trademark of Zentangle, Inc. Learn more at zentangle.com.

2 Responses to “New ZIA In-Progress”

  1. gt281 October 4, 2011 at 10:00 PM #

    ooooh, who lives in a pineapple under the sea….

  2. Faerie♥Kat October 5, 2011 at 10:27 AM #

    That’s a coral castle, you darling duffus! Been knocking back the scotchies a wee bit early, me lad? Has the snow already started to fall in the grand state of Ioway and freeze your brain cell? No matter, yer still luved! Smoochies to Puff and ya can steal one for yerself to help you thaw a bit. Mwah!

Comments are closed.

