“I Suck” Day

13 Jun

I met a young woman on Etsy back at the beginning of May named Amy who wrote to tell me she was learning to crochet jewelry and she liked my wire crochet bracelets.  We’ve been yakking it up ever since and I’ve given her some technique tips and received lots of color advice in return (she’s a natural; check out her boutique, The Thrifty Gift).

Today she wrote to say she hadn’t had any sales in a while and was feeling frustrated, and how was I doing?

Well, I’ve felt pretty low since March and my finances hit an all-time low last month, so I wanted some real figures to look at before I wrote back.  I really wanted to reassure her that this was just a temporary slump.  I wish now I’d just written exactly that and gone on with life, because I didn’t like at all what I found.

The first six months I actually was doing okay.  Then in the seventh month, June 2010, I slipped to only one sale.  I rallied in August and again in November, but I’ve basically just been scraping by ever since.

Yadda yadda yadda about no one has any money to spend and business is tough for everyone.  Lots of people making the sort of things I make are selling at the rate I was doing in my first six months (and better) and they consider THAT to be scraping by!

My sense of self-worth and confidence, which have eroded over the past year, are now totally trashed.  I doubt the quality and desirability of my work completely.  I know I have no target audience.  I know I am so screwed by debt I created by purchasing supplies to make things no one wants.  I know I totally suck at marketing.  I am not enjoying what I am doing because I feel like a bloody ass and failure.

To top this list of dismal numbers is the realization that, of the 186 “fans” I had for my “Faerie Fabulous Finds” Facebook Page, only 15 really paid any attention to it and have followed me to the new Page.  Ego, I name thee “Squashed.”

Today is absolutely the worst “I Suck” day I’ve ever experienced.

4 Responses to ““I Suck” Day”

  1. gt281 June 13, 2011 at 6:22 PM #

    smoooooooches………
    …and HE said “that was when I was carrying you”…………

    • Faerie♥Kat June 15, 2011 at 1:48 PM #

      Thanks, I feel MUCH better for that. Smoooooches back!

  2. Marvin the Martian June 13, 2011 at 7:43 PM #

    Aww, no, you don’t suck, you’re just one vendor out of thousands on Etsy, and you’re making jewelry, which is a luxury item. When the economy gets better, you’ll sell more. Mothball your business until then, maybe?

    Hang in there!

    • Faerie♥Kat June 15, 2011 at 1:50 PM #

      Rationally I know all this; emotionally I don’t care, but I’m feeling better ‘cuz you took the time to care for me. Thanks! (Almost as good as a smooch!)

Comments are closed.

