A Name is Not Just a Name

28 May

I need help.

As some of you know, I’ve been having a problem with branding my Etsy shop.

It doesn’t help that I had no clue that my Username (FaerieKat) would also be my ShopName (FaerieKat) when I created my Etsy account (pout).

I know a few other team members with this same problem.

Etsy management talked eons ago about MAYBE letting us change our Usernames some day, but today is not that day.

When I found out the Gnomester was helping the team with SEO, I knew it was time to try to solve my problem.

Right now, I call my shop “Faerie Fabulous Finds.” I love alliteration.

However, I’ve really painted myself into a tight corner and “finds” sort of indicates that I found it, not that I made it. I intended it to mean for the buyer to find, like a treasure hunt, but now I think it sucks the big toe.

Currently, most of the items in my shop are jewelry, but (if I ever get my work area sorted out and cleaned up so I can actually WORK in it) that will change, so I don’t want the word “jewelry” (no matter the spelling) to be part of my shop name.

Since I belong to the FAETeam, it is important to me that the shop name have something to do with fantasy (duh!). It is also important to me that the shop name uses my Username. Off I went to play with my thesaurus and Google Adwords.

I did a lot of brain-storming and finally came up with these possible shop names:

FaerieKat’s Gallery of Fantasy (see Note 9)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Emporium (see Note 7)
FaerieKat’s Emporium & Shop (see Note 7)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Shop (see Note 7)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Studio / FaerieKat’s Studio of Fantasy (see Note 3)
FaerieKat’s Studio of the Imagination
FaerieKat’s Studio of Inspiration
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Factory (see Note 1)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Creations (see Note 2)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Collection (see Note 4)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Workshop (see Note 1)
FaerieKat’s Mystical Creations (see Note 5)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Cottage (see Note Eight)
FaerieKat’s Inspired Fantasies
Inspired Fantasies by FaerieKat
FaerieKat’s Enchanted Workshop (see Note Eight)
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Flair
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Offerings
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Gifts
FaerieKat’s Fantasy Jewelry (see Note 6)
FaerieKat’s Trinkets and Treasures (see Note 10)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (1)

Fantasy Factory gets 301,000 monthly searches with NO competition. That’s because there is (who knew?) a show on MTV called “Rob Dyrdek’s Fantasy Factory” (Rob is apparently a skateboard legend and his TV fame started on “Rob and Big,” which I think I watched ONCE – I know, I’m such a big loser I have an upside-down L on my forehead).

My shop will probably NEVER come up on the first 3,000 pages if someone searches for “fantasy factory,” but I love the alliteration.

The reason my shop even appears in Google using my shop name is I use it in my Shop Announcement (not in the first 140 characters, but Google still finds it).

No one on Etsy is using “fantasy factory” in either their username, their Shop Announcement or their Shop Title (which the fields that Etsy searches if you choose to search “Shops” in the pull-down menu). Unless I put “fantasy factory” in my Announcement or Title, Etsy wouldn’t find me either.

Then I thought, does “factory” have the opposite connotation from “handmade”? Maybe “workshop” is better; that at least is less mechanical and dredges up images of a single artisan vs a mob of faceless workers.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (2)

“Fantasy creations,” a nice encompassing moniker, and that’s what makes it popular. There are already two shops using it on Etsy, which makes me not like it, plus only 480 searches per month:

Fantasy Creations:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/FantasyCreations
Fantasy Creations Sewing Patterns

Fantasy Creations1:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/FantasyCreations1
Handmade beadwork jewelry necklaces earrings brooches

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (3)

I like the sound of “fantasy studio;” again, one person vs the mob. Google Adwords shows 2,900 monthly searches with almost no competition. Here’s the results on Etsy:

Fantasy Glass Studio
http://www.etsy.com/shop/glassmaster
Fantasy Glass Studio

Dual Fantasy Studios
http://www.etsy.com/shop/creaturesbychase
Dual Fantasy Studios- Custom fairy wings and tutus

Fantasy Design Studio
http://www.etsy.com/shop/FantasyDesignStudio
Fantasy Design Studio

Plushie Fantasy
http://www.etsy.com/shop/SundanceKidStudios
Plushie Fantasy by SundanceKidStudios

I really like switching it around to “FaerieKat’s Studio of Fantasy,” it satisfies my alliterative hunger with the first and last words beginning with “f”. This one is really growing on me.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (4)

“Fantasy collection” gets a great score of 40,500 with no competition. A collection indicates a variety of items about fantasy. But…someone on Etsy actually has the username “fantasycollection.” They just opened May 15th, 2011. They’re in Italy and offer handmade belt buckles (the profile says they are handmade, at first I thought they were selling not-quite-vintage just looking at the photos): http://www.etsy.com/shop/fantasycollection

One other on Etsy:

Sea of Bees
http://www.etsy.com/shop/seaofbees
Whimsical Handmade Jewelry Woodland Fantasy Collection

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (5)

Not really a favorite, “mystical creations” is also already in use on Etsy and only scores 880 on Google Adword:

Mystical Creations:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/When1Angels4cry
Handmade earrings and other random Mystical Creations

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (6)

I know someone is going to suggest “fantasy jewelry,” and if I bite that bullet, there are 39 shops on Etsy that are already using that phrase one way or another (I’m not going to list them all). I’d be sharing with all those shops inside Etsy for a measly Google Adword score of 9,900. And I don’t want to be tied down to just jewelry, because I want to make more books, get back to the faerie goddess sculptures I started, and tons of other materials I have for things that aren’t jewelry.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (7)

I thought of the word “emporium” while out buying dog food today, Saturday (I am dining on the last of my canned vegetables and need toilet paper, but do I go grocery shopping? No, I drive 20 miles to PetsMart to get dry dog food because I care about my dogs more than myself).

Entering “emporium” into Google Adword suggested “emporium shop” and then I thought to pair it all up with “fantasy.”  “Fantasy Emporium & Shop” results in a few keywords and here are the monthly search results:

Fantasy Shop:  14,800 with almost no competition
Fantasy Emporium:  36 with no competition
Emporium Shop:  1,600 with almost no competition

Who knew “fantasy shop” was wide open?  Only 3 people are using it in their Shop Title on Etsy.  Huh.  I’ll have to add this one into consideration, although something about it doesn’t thrill me. “Fantasy store” comes in at 12,100, but sounds so mundane.  Maybe that’s my problem with “shop?”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note Eight

Gary (per comment left on FaceBook) likes “fantasy cottage” (score: 260 with little competition) and “enchanted workshop” (score: 58 with a bit more competition), and suggests “imaginarium” (which by itself scores 550,000, but most of those go to “doctor parnassus” (from the movie of the same title), then dolls and trains suck up the remainder) and “realm of sensory delights” (which as a whole scores 0; “realm delights” also scores 0; “realm sensory” also scores 0; and “sensory delights” scores 73).  I am not encouraged.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (9)

While I was seeing what it would take to change my Hover account if I change my shop’s name (I currently pay for the domain “www.faefabfinds.com” as an alternate website name for my Etsy shop, which also gives me a separate cooresponding email account), I was looking at “www.faeriekatstudio.com” and Hover suggested “www.faeriekatgallery.com;” I looked up “fantasy gallery” (score: 14,800 with very little competition).  Me like, Hover!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Note (10)

I thought of “trinkets and treasures” right before I fell asleep last night (Monday).  My grandfather’s pet name for me was “Trinket” and my grandmother still calls me that.  I’ve always referred to my items as “treasures” in my handwritten notes to customers.  I haven’t done any research on these words and/or phrase yet.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So, what are your opinions and advice about changing my shop name?

Any preferences?

Anybody with a completely different take on a name?

Sometimes one is too close to the forest to see the trees and I definitely feel impaled by a few trees, so I’m definitely VERY close.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here are banners I made using the favorites so far (click on the thumbnail to enlarge):

11 Responses to “A Name is Not Just a Name”

  1. gossamersong June 1, 2011 at 7:44 PM #

    I like “fantasy factory”! It has a sort of open-ended feeling, but not generic at all. In fact, the clashing connotations of fae and factory are kind of neat, giving it a very fresh sense to it.

    My two-pence. 😉

  2. Cyn/fairiesnest June 1, 2011 at 9:10 PM #

    I love Fairiecat’s Fantasy Emporium…it just sounds like a magical shop full of things that will be completely enchanting! Seriously, who wouldn’t want to shop there?!

  3. Lily June 2, 2011 at 8:59 AM #

    I like Emporium and Trinket for what it’s worth! Not necessarily together, with no bearing on search results. I’m talkin’ just word happiness 🙂 Good work Kat!

  4. Janine @ Athena's Armoury June 2, 2011 at 10:18 AM #

    Wow, Kat! You did a ton of work & thinking about this. Good for you, chica. I am very, very impressed. I admittedly don’t know enough about SEO to give an opinion of much benefit, tho! That said, Faerie Kat’s Studio of Fantasy does have a nice ring to it…

  5. gt281 June 4, 2011 at 7:28 AM #

    What’s in a name? The thorns would be as sharp….

    • Faerie♥Kat June 4, 2011 at 9:03 AM #

      How very droll…my darling scarecrow…but not at all helpful. I know your head is full of straw, but I’m sure ye can do better?

  6. gt281 June 5, 2011 at 11:57 AM #

    My google that was a long post, my eyes are bleeding. Are you a pupil of gt281?
    Faeriekat’s Faeriecraft Shoppe….
    Faeriekat’s Bangles, Baubles & Bling….
    Fe, fi, fo, fum, it’s Faeriekat’s Emporium….(hey that rhymes)
    If you want to be Googled as much as possible you must lose the chocolate sauce and peanut sprinkles—be vanilla—thus jewelry should be in the moniker….
    Jewelry by Faeriekat….
    Jewelry by the Jewel of the Swamplands…(too long?)

    Smooches…………..

    • Faerie♥Kat June 5, 2011 at 2:27 PM #

      You is the best smoocher! Mwah!

  7. Mary Anne Melo June 23, 2011 at 5:56 PM #

    have to admit..love Treasures and Trinkets!

  8. Jebbica July 14, 2011 at 5:42 AM #

    I think you should call it “FaerieKat’s Trinkets & Treasures: Enchanted Jewelry Creations & Magical Objects”. I think it has a really nice ring to it. 🙂

    Love,

    Hindsight 20/20

    • Faerie♥Kat July 18, 2011 at 3:19 AM #

      Great minds thinketh alike! Your icon photo on WordPress is gorgeous-amongo! Mwah!

Comments are closed.

