Money Tar Pits

25 Aug

My dear bloggie friends, I am alive but not writing anything because I am currently struggling through several financial tar pits.

As you know, I need money to fix my Actiq-ruined teeth, so I have been selling what amounts to my “estate” on eBay, and that is actually going pretty well – but takes a great deal of effort to research and identify jeweler’s marks (once I can force my aging eyes, using reading glasses, a magnifying glass, and the macro setting on my camera, to find the damn things), researching current value, writing up detailed descriptions, taking scads of photos, blah, blah, blah,

Then I have to hit the e-waves to find a new money management program because Quicken On-line has been replaced by a piece of junk called Mint, and oh, just to make my life interesting, my main bank, a credit union who shall not be named, suddenly stops electronically communicating with the world and no one can fix it, maybe in a month or two.

So now I am looking for a new bank and a new money management program.

I finally settle on Yodlee and move to Bank of America, mostly because (1) they have my mortgage and (2) they have a brick-and-mortar building about 2 minutes from my house.  Within a few days I regret the BOA move because their bill pay software is more painful than my dental work.

In the meantime, someone steals one of my credit card numbers, along with my name, address, phone number and the CVV and purchases two 800 numbers that they forward to a not-in-service phone number in my town, anti-aging cream that they ship to my home, identity theft club membership, credit report membership, coupon club membership, and crap like that.  They don’t purchase anything they can get any benefit from, just shit to harass and annoy me.

Then it turns out that, because BOA’s bill pay is so complicated, the credit card bill pay accounts I set up to start paying out next month, paid out this month.  This totally fucked up my checking account and sprouted a whole lot of red ink because I paid the credit cards this month at THEIR websites.  So all my credit cards got paid twice.  What BOA sympathetic or did they offer any assistance to help me fix this fucking mess?  Absolutely none.

So now I’m working with each credit card account to get the funds reversed.  And what does BOA do?  If the bill pay transaction didn’t go through because of insufficient funds, they wait a few days and SEND IT AGAIN even though I’ve told them the bill pay transactions were errors that shouldn’t have happened in the first place.  So the credit card companies send the payment back, BOA sends it a second time,, and I have to once again get the credit card companies to send it back AGAIN.

I am so hacked off at BOA right now, all I see is RED.  And, of course, now everyone is telling me their own personal horror stories about them, making me feel even worse about having traveled down this dark path.

One of my credit cards is with USAA and they have been so helpful and polite, which is how they always are, that as soon as the shit stops flying at BOA, I’m moving everything to my new USAA checking account.  Their bill pay is simple and easy to use, clean and efficient.  I don’t have to click on 4 different screens or wade through all the crap I had to delete because it takes four screens to set up one payment that, in the end, decides to make itself recurring, so you have to delete it and start over again to try and figure out how to do just ONE single payment.

No madness at USAA; sanity reigns there; blissful calm and I can’t wait.  At USAA, if there isn’t enough money, they either don’t send the fucking bill pay or they use the back up money source you provide; if that won’t cover it, your bill doesn’t get paid and they contact you.  How hard is that?  BOA is just stupid to send out a bill via bill pay that there is no money to cover.

So I am mired in financial tar that will take, I estimate, another 2 weeks to scrape off, and then I am going to pretend I can drink myself into a stupor and enjoy a nice stupor, because I deserve it and I need to stupor away all these money woes.

15 Responses to “Money Tar Pits”

  1. Marvin August 25, 2010 at 9:08 PM #

    That is RIDICULOUS. Of course, I have heard the same kinds of horror stories about BOA, and that’s why I wasn’t happy when they bought Countrywide and acquired my mortgage. I didn’t move anything else to them, though, even though their local branch manager called me and made like we were best friends forever. Never heard from her again, unsurprisingly.

    I have always had good luck with SunTrust. I’ve never had a horrorshow like you have. But, I also don’t do autopay of any kind. I key payments electronically, but I specify the date, and I do each payment myself, online, each month. I don’t schedule anything, because once you schedule something to auto-anything, it’s a holy nightmare to stop it. And that’s true at any bank. After all, people in banking are not very bright. It’s one of the lowest-paid industries, because banks basically make their profit margin off their employees’ lower wages. So they don’t get very smart people. Not even in the investment department, as you’ve seen from the crash and ensuing depression.

    • Faerie♥Kat August 27, 2010 at 7:37 PM #

      I’ve learned my lesson, my Martian friend. Not only have I stopped all bill pay at BOA, but I stopped it at every other conceivable place and moved my business to USAA. They have free checking, free checks, no ATM fees ANYWHERE in the world, electronic deposits and smart, friendly employees who have been helping me with suggestions about how to get out of the nightmare I’m in, including waiving cash withdrawal fees on the MasterCard I have with them if I needed to transfer more cash into BOA to stem the blood flow. I ended up not needing to, thankfully. Of course, now that I’m in a BOA nightmare, everyone I know has a BOA nightmare to share. BOA has my Countrywide mortgage, too. I’ll be doing as you do, from now on, scheduling each payment electronically myself. I got lazy and trusted my laziness to continue with BOA; now I’m uber sick from stress, but I’m not lazy anymore.

  2. mermaiden August 25, 2010 at 9:13 PM #

    daaaaaaaaaaang. didn’t you have a duplicate bill pay happen in past recent months? what the heck is going on in your personal universe?
    hugs.

    • Faerie♥Kat August 27, 2010 at 7:44 PM #

      Similar; a couple months ago, BOA blind-sided me by not posting my mortgage payment as either a scheduled, pending or completed payment for 3 days and I panicked, thinking I forgot to do it, and made an unknown second payment that it took all month to get back. Since I figured I should have called to confirm I really had forgotten, I was to blame. Now I put the blame back on them; there was no excuse for not showing some kind of status on the first payment. I now whole-heartedly wish I’d not been so quick to take the blame, else I’d never have put myself at their mercy like I have. I’ve never done anything so stupid in my life. Really. I’ve done some amazingly stupid things, but I think this tops the list.

  3. Sandy--Fairyqueencrochet August 26, 2010 at 5:28 PM #

    Honestly, could your life be any more in the PITS? And not the La Brea Tar Pits. If you ever come to LA again, you must call me–818-763-4104. I don’t think I knew you then. But, I can’t believe your tale of woe! If all that happened to me, I would definitely get in a a stupor and stay that way. Good think you have a sense of humor and you will get through this. You are too smart not to. And please unload on me anytime!

    • Faerie♥Kat August 27, 2010 at 7:49 PM #

      Oh, the tears are flowing, let me assure you. Any time I have to talk to any one about this, I can hardly talk through choked-back tears. The stress has made me so sick I cannot keep anything down and my sleep is filled with terrors. I’m barely functioning. I’m hunkered down until the fan breaks and the shit stops flying…but thanks for the offer to unload. It’s best not to open the waterworks any further.

  4. gt281 August 26, 2010 at 6:07 PM #

    So, other than that, what have you been doing with yourself?
    Tune in next time for another episode of ‘As the World BOAs’…

  5. Krystal August 28, 2010 at 12:01 AM #

    Now, you’re making me cry Faeri Kat.You can tell me about all your symptoms on Twitter and I will see if I can help you if you are all by yourself and your neck starts swelling up because that’s a matter of life and death.You need to relax,and just talking to someone you trust can help you.You cannot trust just anybody,especially if you have a will made up,they’ll do anything for you and do an excellent job,so you will become dependent on these predators and leave them in your will,it’a scheme,especially do younger women do this to older people men and women alike.Study Bonny Lee Blakely.Be careful,you might become vulnerable to these folks.

  6. hidingplainsight August 29, 2010 at 9:23 PM #

    aw fudge dear…

    hugs and abundance and happy teeth and many joyous random days to you sweets.

    xoxo
    Cyn

    • Faerie♥Kat August 29, 2010 at 10:21 PM #

      Wishing much the same for you, Sister. I sense a change coming for us both, the coalescing of magical energies and workings put into effect some time back. I have a deep feeling of tranquil anticipation; troubled waters will calm and doors to safer havens will open.

  7. aquariann August 30, 2010 at 9:31 PM #

    Eek, that stinks that you are going through such a frustrating financial mess! I hope everything gets cleared up soon. *teddy bear hug* Your new pumpkin blog design looks lovely, at least!

    • Faerie♥Kat August 31, 2010 at 12:45 AM #

      Thanks! I had at adjust my ‘tude; when all else is failing, redesign your blog and banners! Lets the universe know you know things just can’t be that bad… 🙂

  8. Nik September 8, 2010 at 3:41 AM #

    Kat this is so horrible!!! I have horror stories re: Bank of Hell… in fact I used to work for this evil corporation!! Fortunately I was smart enough to get out of there.. they have horrible management!

    Glad you found a new (and more user friendly) bank! Yay!

    Nik.

    • Faerie♥Kat September 8, 2010 at 5:00 PM #

      Hi Sweetie!

      Yes, I got burned and bad, but I’m happy at the new bank and all is going smoothly.

      I’ve missed you a whole lot, but I’ve been too tired to keep up with my blog reading, or even FaceBook.

      I hope your artwork is still going strong and you are enjoying it, as well as your new path.

      Faerie love and light,

      Kat

Comments are closed.

