Meet Madigan

31 Jul

I made a new friend yesterday, an up and coming second grader named Madigan.  She’s the daughter of my friend Gary who lives on the Coast and she’s down here visiting him for summer vacation.  Gary, Karen (Gary’s girl friend, who just passed her Occupational Therapist exam, yay!), Madigan and I got together yesterday for a day of magical crafting for Madigan and it was a day of pure delight!

Having finished the first grade, I’d guess Madigan is about 10 years old (going on twenty!) Madigan is ONLY SEVEN YEARS OLD (and should probably be working on her college degree already!) and very capable of a constant stream of amusing chatter.  I love kids who are amusing and Madigan has a wicked sense of humor.  Plus, she’s smart.  I’d love to put her and Sydney in a crafting session together – I bet the faerie dust would fly!

Since we’d decided to do this the night before, I fell back on my tried-and-true favorite of suggesting a faerie pouch, and Madigan loved the idea.  I let her pick out all the components herself and she really did a good job – she has a very good artistic eye.  She spied my vase of peacock feathers and, although it first started out as a balancing demonstration, it soon turned into the idea to use a peacock eye as the focal piece for the front of the bag.  Everybody loves the teal suede I created, and Madigan was no exception, but she was left with scraps, so we made do with what we had and made a smallish pouch.  She also went through all the novelty yarns completely unassisted and came up with a gorgeous combination (combinations both I and Syndey have used – another indication of compatibility!).

Here are some pics of the end results.  Madigan was fascinated by my homemade lightbox and she took some of these herself.  The last six, which are close-ups of the strings of beads she coordinated, are blurry because the camera wasn’t reset to macro after we finished taking snapshots of her wearing the pouch, but they still give a good indication of her careful selections of beads and charms.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is where we wrecked havoc, uh, I mean worked:

And here she is, posing in every possible location she could find, wearing the pouch.  Isn’t she just adorable?  This is another kid I’d gladly adopt.

And here, for the first time, is a photo of me with one of my little crafters, and it apparently is me who can’t stop talking this time!

Madi took this photo of me and I love that it makes me look like I have tiny Mickey Mouse ears!

We lit a faerie candle and invited them to join us in our play as we began, and the day was filled with so much pure magical creation I’m absolutely sure they showed up!   Faeries, a little girl, and “making stuff” is the most wonderful recipe I know.  Thank you, Madigan, and come again soon!

2 Responses to “Meet Madigan”

  1. Madigan July 31, 2010 at 7:28 PM #

    These pictures are wonderful. I am 7, not 10 🙂
    I had a suprecalifrafilisticexpalidocious time with you Faerie Kat!
    Thank you!

    • Faerie♥Kat July 31, 2010 at 7:47 PM #

      That is just faerincredible! I have corrected my horrible mistake (I was just guessing) and I’m ever so sorry.

      You are very grown up for 7 years old! Are you sure you’re not a faerie in disguise and really 51 years old, like me? Because some days I feel like I am 7 years old and I am part faerie. We must be faerie kin.

      Luv and hugz forever,

      Kat

Comments are closed.

