A Very Stinky Day

25 Jun

This past Tuesday night, the sewer backed up into my guest bathtub, which not only meant an ungodly stench but also that none of the toilets would flush and the master bath wouldn’t empty after a nice, hot and relaxing soak (my first clue something was wrong).  When I tried to plunge the water in the roman tub, the shower backed up, too.

Fortunately, all the stinky water was restrained to the guest bathtub, but I exhausted myself for 3 hours that night trying to figure out what to do, then another 3 hours the next morning before I gave up and called in the paid professionals.

It took him 2 hours and 3 tries to snake the sewer pipe from the house to the street because the blockage ended up being only a few feet away from the street (but still on my property, so my responsibility–pooh!). No idea what it was because he just pushed it through. I am now $200 poorer (as in now poorer than poor), but everything is finally flowing freely.

I gave myself a nice case of heat exhaustion, with free headache thrown in that turned into a migraine, from digging up my front flower beds trying to find the in-ground sewer access (and I never found it, so he had to access the pipes from the roof-top, making the job take much longer than it otherwise would).

All-in-all, I have to say it was a pretty shitty day. For real. I’m still recovering.

9 Responses to “A Very Stinky Day”

  1. Thomas Crapper June 25, 2010 at 5:14 PM #

    A roof-top plumber—you made that up, ain’t no such animal.

    • Faerie♥Kat June 25, 2010 at 8:16 PM #

      I’ve suspected for some time now that my last remaining brain cell was on the fritz…but I swear I saw it, honest!

  2. Saje June 26, 2010 at 3:00 AM #

    Boo! Hugs for you, dear!

    • Faerie♥Kat June 26, 2010 at 3:40 PM #

      Thanks, sweetie! You are sugar in my tisane!

  3. Marvin June 26, 2010 at 9:42 PM #

    Ugh! I hate sewer issues. I’m so glad I’m on septic. It makes you be very careful. And if anything goes wrong with it, there’s no doubt whose fault it is. 😉

    I’m glad it’s all cleaned up.

    • Faerie♥Kat June 27, 2010 at 3:31 PM #

      So are my olfactory senses, as well as the rest of my senses, all of which attempted to take leave and leave me unconscious.

  4. hidingplainsight June 28, 2010 at 7:30 PM #

    HUGSHUGSHUGS

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A Very Stinky Day | Faerie♥Kat's Faerie♥Korner -- Topsy.com - June 25, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kat Cranston, Kat Cranston. Kat Cranston said: A Very Stinky Day: http://wp.me/p9erV-1×4 […]

Comments are closed.

