Work in Progress

13 Jun

The working title of this piece is “Spider Widow’s Lace Bib Necklace” and my inspiration came from here.  I’ve seen this done in metallic cotton thread, but not in wire.  Doesn’t mean it hasn’t been done, just that I haven’t seen it.

I used 30 gauge purple Parawire and crocheted 4 layers of lace that I then attached to a length of 16 gauge purple Artistic Wire.  After I create the final eye pins on the 16 gauge wire, I’ll attach either silver or antique brass chain.

This was a difficult piece to make because it required the use of a Size 7 metal hook that makes tiny stitches which, when combined with thin wire, chews up your fingertips and makes them lose all feeling.  It’s also murder on the eyes,  Yarn or cotton thread would be much easier and faster.

I am undecided on how to finish this piece.  I am thinking of adding one of these ceramic flowers:

But I also have this antique brass spider, which is extra-large but by itself won’t have much impact:

I could use both of them, but would that be overwhelming?

What do you think, Internet?

4 Responses to “Work in Progress”

  1. CrystalKittyCat June 14, 2010 at 1:52 AM #

    Hmm… I really think the spider would go better by itself on it! The feel I get from the necklace is more creepy spider-webish than something to have orange flowers on.

    • Faerie♥Kat June 14, 2010 at 2:40 PM #

      Thanks, Kitty; after some reflection, I agree with you. At first I thought, hmm, what would be the point, she’ll just fade in and you won’t see her. Then I thought, duh, dude! She’s a creepy spider on a dark purple web; you’re not supposed to see her right away! Had that thought about ten minutes after I read your comment. You rock!

  2. Shannon June 14, 2010 at 8:08 AM #

    I think it is beautiful! Great job!! I would play around with the spider and maybe a flower or two in a small grouping off to the side. I think it is great! I have no clue how to even begin crocheting.
    ~Shannon

    • Faerie♥Kat June 14, 2010 at 2:40 PM #

      Well, I have two rows of purple wire lace that make it look like I didn’t have a clue either about how to begin crocheting, lol. I decided the flowers were too bright and to keep to a dark, more Goth theme. Love those enamel flowers, though. Will have to dream up some way to use them. Thanks for helping to get my creative brain cell juiced. Mwah!

Comments are closed.

