Klaxon of Doom

18 May

I spent about a half hour huddled in my master bedroom walk-in closet with my three Yorkshire terriers this evening, one of which was totally terrified and uncontrollable until I shoved her into the darkest recesses of the closet under the densest clothing that reaches the floor.  Obviously convinced that she was completely invisible to the universe, she finally went to sleep (I think, I don’t really know; she was invisible to me).

Why were we huddled on all the bed pillows, you may ask, in a closet on Tuesday evening?  I shall tell you..all about THE KLAXON OF DOOM.  I was working on my column piece for PaganPages (which is due Thursday, gak!) when this hideous high-pitched whining noise filled the air.  There was already enough noise from the massive raining, thundering and lightning going on outside, and the power had ominously flickered once (but my laptop has a good battery) and I thought I was imagining it (my ears are all messed up), or that it was a fire truck.  No, not even, because IT DID NOT STOP.  It started to become very annoying.  That’s when I finally looked at the weather gadget that sits right at the top of my Windows sidebar and that I have never used, and there, in BRIGHT RED, was the word ALERT!  I popped the sucker open and it starting shouting (metaphorically) TORNADO WARNING!!

Oh.  Shit.  That annoying noise was saying a tornado had been sighted somewhere close enough that the local somebody (school at the entrance to my subdivision four streets away or the fire station just across the street from the entrance to my subdivision) was blasting the RUN FOR YOUR BATHTUB, YOU’RE GOING TO DIE horn.  Except all of my bathtubs are right under windows, so that is not an option.  The only room in my entire house that does not share an exterior wall is my walk-in closet.

We did not die, but I don’t know yet if anyone else did.  If I find out, I’ll let you know.  Whew!

5 Responses to “Klaxon of Doom”

  1. Saje May 19, 2010 at 6:02 AM #

    Wow! So glad you are safe! I will send good thoughts to all of your neighbours.

  2. Marvin May 19, 2010 at 3:14 PM #

    Okay, that’s one widget I would uninstall IMMEDIATELY. If it’s a problem, you’ll hear the tornado horn outside. You’re not living in Siberia, I know you have technology near you. 😉

  3. Cordelia Fosgate May 19, 2010 at 6:05 PM #

    Seems I’ve heard this story before, in Technicolor even….

    What happened was just this.
    The wind began to switch – the house to pitch and suddenly the hinges started to unhitch.
    And oh, what happened then was rich.
    *The house began to pitch. The kitchen took a slitch.
    It landed on the Wicked Witch in the middle of a ditch,
    Which was not a healthy situation for the Wicked Witch.
    *The house began to pitch. The kitchen took a slitch.
    It landed on the Wicked Witch in the middle of a ditch,
    Which was not a healthy situation for the Wicked Witch.
    … Who began to twitch and was reduced to just a stitch of what was once the Wicked
    And Toto too……..

    • Faerie♥Kat May 30, 2010 at 10:30 AM #

      The only thing missing were the ruby slippers…they be sparkly and we likes sparkly…

  4. hidingplainsight May 27, 2010 at 2:00 PM #

    whew is right! Glad you’re okay. Those pesky warning bells…

Comments are closed.

