The Book Faery Reviews

10 Feb

A young mother of three named Farrah, who loves books and reading, is known as The Book Faery.  Now, most of you know that I think reading is our most important educational skill – good, bad or indifferent, every book has something to teach, even if it teaches us it’s a bad book.

Farrah reads books and then writes reviews, and that’s good; it brings attention to books that might otherwise never receive any attention.  However, remember that a review is the reader’s opinion and it tells you the truth about the reader, but not necessarily the truth about the book.  Never allow somebody’s opinion to become your opinion without first gaining personal knowledge of what the opinion is about; otherwise, how do you know the opinion is valid?

I’m reminded of the mother of two girls in my old Girl Scout group who demanded that nothing about Harry Potter be mentioned during our meetings because her minister told her the books were about Satan and black magic.  When I asked if she had read the books herself to see if that was, in fact, true (knowing from my reading of the series that it was not true), she admitted that she hadn’t and that she didn’t intend to.  She wished to remain ignorant, and to espouse ignorant and false information instead!

The Book Faery asked if I would like to take part in celebrating the second anniversary of her blog, The Book Faery Reviews, and I said it would be my pleasure to help sponsor the event.  To that end, I have provided some goodies under the category of “book & writing accessories” for her to give away.  That’s FREE STUFF for my slower readers.  So go check out her website and join in the fun – and then go read a book, it’s better for you than a vitamin!

6 Responses to “The Book Faery Reviews”

  1. Farrah from The Book Faery Reviews February 11, 2010 at 5:04 PM #

    Thanks Kat! I’ll be updating the post soon with pics and showcasing you VERY soon (the faeries around here have been keeping me UBER busy this week!). My daughter tried to take one of them and was so disappointed to here that your faeries will be leaving us at the end of this month. 🙂

    • Faerie♥Kat February 12, 2010 at 11:40 AM #

      Uh oh! She may be a faerie in disguise! They love sparkly things and things with shiny bows. But don’t we all? Mwah!

  2. gt281 February 11, 2010 at 6:24 PM #

    That post has so many starting points for me to yada yada yada,, I’m not even
    going to bother….

    The Fae pages keep turning but nothing new is revealed….Hmmm,, must be a
    book that can only be read thru a lens darkly….

    I still ain’t dead,, but I’m trying hard at it….

    Smooooooches………………

    • Faerie♥Kat February 12, 2010 at 11:44 AM #

      Dahling, you ARE a glass darkly, filled with aged scotch and bourbon (hold the ice; I’m sure there’s plenty right outside the door). That’s why you’ll never die, no matter how hard you try. Smoooooches and kizzzzzzessss to you and Puff.

  3. Marvin February 11, 2010 at 10:36 PM #

    True! Don’t hold an opinion that’s just handed to you.

    • Faerie♥Kat February 12, 2010 at 12:06 PM #

      And always wash your hands afterwards. You don’t know where that opinion has been.

Comments are closed.

