Fragrant Paper Whites

4 Feb

In my column for PaganPages this month, I provided directions for forcing paper whites and dedicating them to the fae.  My bulbs arrived already sprouting (I ordered them from the National Gardening Association this year, 25 for $16.95, and actually received 27 gigantic, healthy bulbs) and I had to prepare 3 containers.  In the past, I’ve been able to squeeze 20 bulbs into this container alone:


It used up all my pebbles and green sea glass that I use for this purpose, so I had to get creative when it came to the next two pots, which are heart-shaped ceramic bowls that have done duty as water bowls for the dogs, held potpourri, catch-alls, and casseroles!  I had a couple of jars and a plastic container of beads that I knew were highly unlikely to make it into any of my projects anytime soon, so they stepped in to act as fill to hold the bulbs in place:


The littlest container put out the first bloom and its fragrance is filling the house, which is amazing considering they’re not even fully open yet:


I started all the containers on the alcohol/water mix immediately and they’re sitting on the back of my craft table, facing the big sliding glass doors.  To help them get even more sunlight, I placed light colored light-reflecting sheets of scrapbooking paper behind them.

I dedicated the bulbs and containers to the fae on Imbolc/Candlemas this past Tuesday, along with consecrating my new wands from Wands of Avalon.  The Wheel is turning slowly, but it’s turning and my favorite time of year is approaching:  Spring!

3 Responses to “Fragrant Paper Whites”

  1. Marvin February 4, 2010 at 2:42 PM #

    That first pic looks very much like a bunch of crab parts, like what I find on my beach all the time, little legs and parts of joints, strewn about by yellow-crowned night herons, who are messy eaters. They grab the crabs and shake the violently until they fly apart. Poor little crabs.

  2. Catz February 8, 2010 at 12:22 AM #

    These look lovely. You are right spring is coming faster that I can even believe. We are supposed to host the winter games, but this is the warmest winter on record here in Vancouver! Sometimes mother nature has the last laugh doesn’t she??

    • Faerie♥Kat February 8, 2010 at 6:37 AM #

      Yes she does, and doesn’t she have a wicked sense of humor?!

Comments are closed.

