Where I Play with the Fae

18 Jan

Or where I should play, because my entire house has been taken over by my play things!

First, I decided that Nik’s beads (here and here) needed to be varnished so they’d stay shiny forever:

This is the mokume gane block I created to make the beads I did today.  You can clearly see what I meant by topography:


This shot is the outside of the block, where you can just barely see the indentations from where I poked holes into the block to create the deformations that formed in the previous photo:


You can clearly see the layers of clay when the top piece of the block is stood on end:

Which is the position it needs to be in when I take the tissue blade and slice downward, skinning off a thin sheet of mokume gane (which takes 2 hands and precise control):

I realized haven’t ever posted pics of my workspace, and I read somewhere people like to see “where all the magic happens,” so here’s where the bulk of the odds and ends are, only because this is where I first organized them before the faeries reorganized and redistributed them around the house.  As you can see, I’m always accompanied by the fae!

7 Responses to “Where I Play with the Fae”

  1. Nicole January 18, 2010 at 5:18 PM #

    oooo a magical workspace… 🙂 awesome!

    • Faerie♥Kat January 18, 2010 at 10:13 PM #

      oooo a messy workspace… 😦 need a maid!

  2. M. January 19, 2010 at 8:32 AM #

    Green with envy! Then again, there is no point of wanting all that stuff if I haven’t got half the talent you have :-(. I think I just turned even greener. Hey, apparently I am a spring, so green suits me just fine :-D.

    • Faerie♥Kat January 19, 2010 at 9:15 AM #

      Try this on for size: I’ve gotten to the point that I can’t remember half the stuff I have or where it is! Old age, too much stuff, or stuff mysteriously appearing/disappearing? Only the faeries know for sure!

  3. Chalmers Bryant January 19, 2010 at 6:56 PM #

    Bangles, bobbles and beads, oh my….

    Oh look something shiny…….

    • Faerie♥Kat January 19, 2010 at 7:48 PM #

      Yes, we know how easy it is to distract you.

      Look, a flying Hungarian dwarf!

      I knew you would look. You’re so easy. Handsome, but easy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where I Play with the Fae – Revisited | Faerie Fabulous Finds' Bloggie♥Workshop - May 27, 2010

    […] So, here’s a reminder of how my workspace looked on January 18th: […]

Comments are closed.

