My Prettiest Paper

9 Jan

I love to experiment when I hand-make paper, and last night I whipped up what I think is the prettiest piece of paper I’ve ever created.  The sad thing is, I can’t capture the lovely bronze sparkle without the aid of sunlight and it’s a gloomy grey day here in Central Florida, complete with warnings of ice being broadcast this morning.  All of my cold-intolerant plants have been nipped again, which means all their foliage is just so much soggy melted goo that will freeze, unfreeze and freeze again until this cold front passes and then it will dry and harden into black, crackly carapaces of death.  So sad.

But, happily, you can see some of the amazing lacey texture created by my new “paper soup” recipe and even some of the sparkle in the last two photos.

I also finished some other less dramatic, but really great smelling, handmade pieces and finished the bronzed hand decorated sheets, too.


Time to start hand-ripping these sheets and turning them into pages for more signatures.

2 Responses to “My Prettiest Paper”

  1. Marvin January 11, 2010 at 9:24 PM #

    This reminds me of that scene in “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off,” when Cameron is staring at “Sunday on the Isle of Le Grand Jatte” and the camera gets closer and closer to the painting until you can count the individual fibers.

    • Faerie♥Kat January 11, 2010 at 10:27 PM #

      Where do you think I got the idea for this post? You spoil everything. [snert!]

Comments are closed.

