Raspberry Rhapsody Continues

22 Dec

Finally, after nearly a whole month of doing nothing new, and especially doing nothing about my commission work, I had a chance to get back in the groove and get the cover art done for my Aunt Betty’s suede faerie journal.  I used an extra fine black Sharpie for the first time (liked it) and then added silver sparkle with a gel pen.  I used one of my avatars for inspiration, and it came out adorable!

My journals are completely enclosed because I like to do more than just write in my journals.  They are intended to be a repository for keepsakes and found magical gifts from the faeries, so I make the cover generously overlap in the front and provide a cord that wraps around the entire journal.  Additionally, the way I bind my books creates both this closure and a bookmarker all from a single length of cord.  This means there are only two knots in the entire binding process – one to secure the bookmark and one to secure the closure.  My journals simply do not come apart!

Now comes the fun of choosing charms for the closure and bookmark, and then as a special favor for my Aunt, I’m going to fill the volume with magical faerie oddments for her to enjoy—in between making the two books for her daughters.

6 Responses to “Raspberry Rhapsody Continues”

  1. pixie December 22, 2009 at 9:49 PM #

    SO CUTE!

    • Faerie♥Kat December 23, 2009 at 11:01 AM #

      Thanks! Your website is adorable and I’ve added you to my blog roll. Keep up your faerie good works.

  2. Auntie Betty Lou Cranston Derry December 22, 2009 at 11:11 PM #

    My dear and most precious Niece….I am so looking forward to holding my Journal. Next to my Blob in hard copy, it just well may become my most prized possession. I know Dana and Mary will be overwhelmed with their Journals as I am already knowing to what lengths you have gone in putting mine together.

    • Faerie♥Kat December 23, 2009 at 11:12 AM #

      Oh, I’m so glad you approve, Auntie Betty! I started the girl’s papers last night and finished 9 sheets. That will make 72 pages; only need 216 more pages, or 27 more sheets. I’m adding some brown grocery bags to the mix and using copper mica and glitter, along with some herbs that add lovely warm golden tones. I’ll post some shots soon! It nice to be creating, versus selling, again.

  3. Auntie Betty Lou Cranston Derry February 20, 2010 at 8:16 PM #

    Hi, dearest Niece….heading into the third reading of the compilation of favorite poems and prose you chose especially for me….AND I LOVE THEM ALL! I especially love your poem that so describes my life at times…the House Fairies. Am framing the poem and it will rest on a wall in my bedroom…as a reminder of “work to do” but, mostly, of you! The Raspberry Journal will become the heirloom that my newest great granddaughter, Brooklynn, will some day receive and treasure as much as I do this day. I treasure you, Kat! Will be having lunch with Mary and Dana soon and will present their Journals to them…very special occasion!

Comments are closed.

