Crimson Commission Coming Along

24 Nov

My first commissioned faerie journal made a big leap forward today, despite the fact that I had enormous trouble keeping my eyes open (I felt like I had sleeping sickness all day).

Only three steps remain:  create or choose charm to close journal, create or choose charm to create bookmark, and create and apply drawing to front of journal.

I’m a big fan of asymmetrical covers, especially ones with natural edges, like this.  I like the organic touch it lends.  What do you think, internet?  Auntie Betty?

I’m thinking about making a stencil for this journal from one of my drawings, rather than drawing freehand straight on to the suede.  I have to tell you, that frayed my nerves down to the core last time, even though I lightly sketched the general outline of the silhouette in pencil first.  Of course, cutting out a stencil may make me regret this decision half-way through, so I’ll see how it goes.

Then I’ll start filling this journal with lovely bits of poetry, stories and artwork for my Auntie – a very special journal for a very special lady.

2 Responses to “Crimson Commission Coming Along”

  1. Bill Pratt November 24, 2009 at 8:16 PM #

    You really should find something to do during your
    retirement/vacation time, it must get awfully boring watching
    re-runs of Oprah and I Love Lucy.

    Oh yeah,’ the phone is dead’, but the choo-choo is still gasping,
    although its just a fainting whisper now….

    • Faerie♥Kat November 24, 2009 at 9:06 PM #

      If I hadn’t sucked so badly at being an editor, completely scaring my poor client into a nearly catatonic state of writer’s denial, I wouldn’t have to stoop to all this lowly labor, dawling. What can I do to help the old choo-choo keep it’s chug-chug going? Does it burn coal or bourbon?

Comments are closed.

