Loving That Light Box of Mine

15 Oct

I picked up some different color poster boards today and rescued the lights from the garage that I used to light up the porch when our Girl Scout troop used to meet in the autumn and winter, and, voila, my light box was ready for a test driver…er, shoot.

While I was taking these photos, a fantastic thunderstorm suddenly blew in (well, I thought it was fantastic, but my poor Mindy – whose mother was a Jehovah’s Witness and I’m afraid it scarred her for life – thought it was the end of the world!) and, even though it wasn’t even 3 p.m. yet, it was suddenly as though twilight had fallen.  My handy-dandy, homemade, only cost me $.95 to make light box couldn’t have cared less.  These photos are straight out of the camera, no digital cropping or manipulation yet – and except for the fact that the ones of the bracelet aren’t square, I think any one would be ready for uploading into Etsy.

Click on each thumbnail so you can really see why I love my light box.

Don’t you want to sink your teeth into that bracelet.  The cherry quartz makes me think of watermelon and makes my mouth water – come on, don’t you want to take just a little nibble?!

I was able to set the white balance and play with perspective (where I focused on the first bead by pressing the shutter button half-way, then reset the shot before pressing the button the rest of the way down, which made the beads in the background blurry and the ones in the foreground nice and crisp — yeah, I’ve been reading up on this stuff!).  I also played with where the beads are in the picture, i.e., the rule of 4ths (I’m not even going to try and explain it, but basically it means things are not supposed to be plop-down in the middle of the frame).  I didn’t need to do anything with the aperture or f-stop because my light box was so perfectly lit (I’m doing the happy dance!), I just made sure I was switched to macro and yippity-yippity!

I’m not hating photography today.Sign23

4 Responses to “Loving That Light Box of Mine”

  1. hidingplainsight October 16, 2009 at 4:57 PM #

    What camera are you using?

    • Faerie♥Kat October 16, 2009 at 9:46 PM #

      Canon PowerShot SX110 IS…

  2. hidingplainsight October 17, 2009 at 1:10 AM #

    Niiice. Thanks, and yeah, gorgeous photos. Inspiring. Must put some thought into this.

    • Faerie♥Kat October 17, 2009 at 7:51 AM #

      Thank you, sweetie. I’m so glad to be over that hump and improving. That had to be the most frustrating week I’ve had in months!

Comments are closed.

