Cat Owners! Take Heed!

25 Aug

My friend, Maddwitch, found an interesting article about the affects of clumping litter on the digestive systems of cats.  Since clumping litter is made with materials designed to absorb moisture and can expand to 15 times its original volume, just licking the dust of clumping litter off their fur can create enough mass in a cat’s bowels to create a life-threatening blockage.  I wonder if this is the “mass” that killed my beloved Missy.

Dogs living in homes that use clumping litter are also at risk if they “snack” out of the cat’s litter box.

What is really maddening is that the companies know this is happening, but say its our responsibility to ensure our animals don’t eat the litter.  Kind of hard to keep a cat from licking itself clean, though.

The only way you can be sure this won’t happen to your cat is to start using non-clumping litter.  If I still had a cat, I certainly would.

Missy was the only one out of four cats that I could bring with me when I moved from RI to FL; she always wanted to be an only child.  Here she is up North showing off her mid-air catching skillz:

Missy-Catch

And her retrieving skillz; I think she may have been a dog in her previous life lol:

Missy-Fetch

Or maybe she was a nurse, because she was always near me when I was having an HAE swelling (fortunately, this attack was limited to my right hand and forearm):

Missy-VisitSign15

3 Responses to “Cat Owners! Take Heed!”

  1. Marvin August 26, 2009 at 8:13 PM #

    My Jesse fetches also. He is 17, and getting thinner every day. I will miss him when he’s gone.

    • Faerie♥Kat August 27, 2009 at 1:50 PM #

      I love cats and can’t believe I don’t have one, but after Missy passed, I was heartbroken. Then I lucked into 2 Sun Conures. Then I didn’t dare get another cat. But birds are hard to snuggle in bed, so I now have 3 Yorkshire Terriers. I wonder what they’d do if I gave them a kitten?

      Jesse sounds like a cat I would have stolen from you if I lived nearby; aren’t you glad I don’t? —– Original Message —–

  2. Treaya August 28, 2009 at 6:20 AM #

    I never knew that and we have have 4 cats and a dog. I’m going to start looking for a different litter now. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

