Perfect Proof — Just Not the Booze Kind!

3 Jun

For those of you who have had the tenacity to follow the trials and tribulations of my most recent health crisis here on my blog, you know that two blood tests showed that I have developed kidney damage.  This finding not only semi-ruined my enjoyment of my step-mother’s remarriage and my visit with my beloved Grandmother, but threw me back into the abyss of pain and misery (times 10) I was experiencing before the FDA approved the treatment that is currently keeping me on this side of the veil.

My dear friend, Saje, offered to create a healing charm for me and I enthusiastically welcomed hers (and everyone else’s) efforts on my behalf, and I was looking forward to receiving it in the mail.  As of Tuesday morning, however, it had not yet arrived and, despite having another HAE attack following directly on the heels of an extremely severe attack that began last Tuesday and persisted until Thursday night (when I finally called my immunologist – who wanted me to go to the hospital because I was too sick to access my port myself, but as proof positive of how much I hate the ERs around here and although it took me about an hour and a Sybil-like litany of “I know I can do this.  I know I can do this.  I have to do this.  I have to do this.  Dear Goddess, I need you to help me do this” over and over until I got the sucker in and gave myself one infusion and then a second one an hour later – I was 10 out of 10 wanting to just die!).

So I recuperated slowly over the weekend and dontcha know, another attack starts Monday night and I have to see the nephrologist Tuesday morning!!!  But I’m a true Taurus and determined to drag myself there if it kills me and everybody else.  I can hardly see, I’m stopping every mile or so to contribute organic matter to the road side environment, and I crawl into his office.  He gets one look at me and refuses to discuss any thing about my kidneys – I’m going directly to the ER whether I like it or not!!  So off I go (my step-mother picks me up or I would have just landed up at the closest hospital – and I really would have gone to meet my Goddess) to the only hospital in which I have at least a small amount of trust.

They get one look at me and, despite the fact that I have no gun or knife wounds, and I’m not conveniently spouting blood like a fountain in the local lake, they get me into an ER room and work me up (blood pressure, drawing blood and other fluids, putting the cool non-slip socks on my feet, getting me warm blankets, doing an EKG, etc.) within 10 MINUTES!!  In another 5 minutes, in comes the ER doc and he’s obviously been talking to someone already (probably my nephrologist) because I don’t have to recite the HAE handbook for him.  He wants to hook me up with some breakfast of saline water, give me some intravenous Zofran to really give the nausea the old heave-ho, and get some x-rays of my abdomen to be sure there aren’t any obstructions, and all of that happens within fifteen minutes of him skeddaling.

At this point, it is 2:30 p.m. and I have sucked (okay, my veins have sucked) down almost 3/4 of the bad of salt water and my pain level has decreased from 10 to about 4.  The doctor waltzes in and asks how I’m feeling and I let him know I’m feeling great – for me!  And that’s when he tells me the news:

ALL OF THE LEVELS THEY’VE BEEN GOING BAT-SHIT CRAZY OVER ABOUT MY KIDNEYS—WELL, THEY ARE PERFECTLY NORMAL!  IN FACT, SAYS THE ER DOC, MY NUMBERS ARE BETTER THAN HIS!!

Dr. Tudor, my nephrologist, had contacted his partner, whose name was complete unpronounceable and and so I had Tudor write it on a piece of paper, which I would show to every medical looking official, well, he said he thought that there was absolutely nothing to worry about with respect to my kidneys!!

There is something that happens at 2:30 p.m. every Monday through Saturday – and that is when my postal carrier delivers my mail.

There is no doubt in my mind that Saje’s charm being delivered in my “possession” at the same time that I received the news that my kidneys were fine is not a coincidence or a happenstance!  I know it is another example of the proof and power of magic.

You have all given me the strength to persevere until the right elements could be brought into alignment at the perfect moment, and my  heart is filled with so much love and gratitude!

I almost forgot the most important news – I’ve been given permission to go back to my regular schedule of using Cinryze every other day!  I expect it will take some time to undo the damage sustained over the past few weeks (like whatever is going on with my eyes – everything is blurry whether I have glasses on or not) and rebuild my energy, but my spirit survived and is large enough to reach out and embrace each and every one of you!

Kiss

Kat

10 Responses to “Perfect Proof — Just Not the Booze Kind!”

  1. Saje June 4, 2009 at 3:44 AM #

    YAAAAAYYYYYYYY!!!!!! (About the good stuff, not the crap you’ve been going through or the hospital visit.) Hugs!!!

  2. Marvin June 4, 2009 at 1:10 PM #

    I am glad you survived your latest attacks, got good help at the ER, and are feeling better!

  3. gt281 June 4, 2009 at 7:30 PM #

    And the bill shall come
    It will not wait
    Come hither come yonder
    It is at the gate
    Now don’t be late
    The folded sheet is marked ‘pay this sum’
    From the white coat medical ones
    And it shall be red stamp marked
    Postage due……
    ……………………………………………….
    Be you dead or be you alive
    You must post
    Apon the bloggy blog
    Else how will we
    Of mortal beings
    Get thru another sunrise…..

    • Faerie♥Kat June 5, 2009 at 11:25 AM #

      Me thinks vampyres liketh unto thee needeth not worrieth about the sun arising!

      In the heartlessness of “old stake in the heart” to another, mwah! Now hastened back to thy crypt before thee crisp!

  4. dawtch June 6, 2009 at 9:35 PM #

    I’m sorry I haven’t been posting (here or anywhere) 😦 but I am glad to hear – ok, read – that you are getting better, and on the way the even betterness…is that even a word…
    bb
    dawtch

  5. Nicole June 9, 2009 at 5:28 PM #

    Im so happy to read that your kidneys are fine. I know I have been gone for a while, but you have been in my thoughts.

    *~Nicole.

  6. TJ June 13, 2009 at 10:00 PM #

    Wait a minute… suddenly your kidneys are fine? Doesn’t that worry you? To me, this seems to indicate that the doctors were incorrect in their diagnosis; it indicates that something ELSE is terribly wrong. Do you have any clue what that might be?

    • Faerie♥Kat June 13, 2009 at 10:32 PM #

      Thank you for your concern, TJ, but my medical history is really complicated and Hereditary Angio Edema is a really serious complicator. They almost removed one of my kidneys when I was five until my father (my parents were divorced by that time) arrived to inform them (why my mother didn’t, since I inherited HAE from her, is part of her own psychosis) that most likely the reason they thought I had Bright’s Disease (known today as a necrotic kidney; i.e., a dying kidney) was because of the disease I inherited from my mother. He asked them to wait another day and — you guessed it — next day my kidneys were fine. HAE can attack various organs (like the pancreas, liver, ovaries, etc.) and cause all kinds of weird anomalies and mimic all sorts of other problems. The biggest problem is when the doctors won’t listen to me when I tell them they need to factor in the HAE.

      To be on the safe side, I’ll be having blood work done on my kidneys on a regular basis for the next six months to convince both the docs AND myself that the two back to back tests were just anomalies caused by HAE.

      It’s so much fun being me — I’m like a constant puzzle or game of “Operation!”

      • TJ June 13, 2009 at 10:40 PM #

        Hey, thanks for the quick response and clarification, not that this “cherished ancient” is any less worried now!

        • Faerie♥Kat June 13, 2009 at 11:37 PM #

          Hey, TJ, don’t worry to much.

          I’ll hack up a hair ball here real soon and everything will be back to perfect in my dog-infested world.

          Love your website, BTW, which instantly elevates you to “honored homunculus.”

          I think I’ll add you to my blog roll as soon as I can actually see it. And get myself one of those sexy ladies’ t-shirts, too, as soon as they’re not so blurry.

          Ciao for now…or do I mean meow?

          Kat

Comments are closed.

