Rose Petal Tea Sandwiches

4 Apr

For those of you who are lucky enough to be able to grow roses (it’s darn hard to do here in Florida without tons of chemicals and constant 24/7 vigilance), here’s a wonderful way to use your rose petals just before they’re going to drop off anyway:

Put a layer of fresh and fragrant red rose petals in the bottom of a jar or covered dish.  Place 4 ounces of fresh butter wrapped loosely in waxed paper on top of the first layer of petals.  Cover the butter with a thick layer of rose petals. Cover the jar or dish closely and leave in a cool place overnight. The more fragrant the roses, the finer the flavor that will be imparted.

Cut bread in thin strips or circles and spread one side of each with the perfumed butter.  Place several petals from fresh red roses between the slices, allowing the petals to show along the edges.  Serve with the tea or tisane of your choice.  For my English Rose Tisane recipe, click here.

Violets or clover blossoms may be used in place of roses.  Just be sure that your petals are pesticide-free.


2 Responses to “Rose Petal Tea Sandwiches”

  1. Nicole April 4, 2009 at 9:35 PM #

    😀 I really want to make this!!!I think my grandma grows roses and I don’t think she uses pesticides so next time I go visit her we are making this!

    *~Nicole.

    • Faerie♥Kat April 4, 2009 at 10:13 PM #

      Doesn’t just reading about it make you want to have a tea party right away?
      My friend, Barbara, is very English and we often got out her good china and
      made tea parties for our friends, with watercress and cucumber sandwiches.
      I wish I’d this recipe when she still lived close by, but I’ll make some
      and take it with me when I go to visit her in New Orleans — she’ll be
      enchanted!

Comments are closed.

