My Green Thumb is a-Tinglin’!!

3 Apr

Spring is nearly over here in Central Florida, alas, and the air is filled with oak pollen (the count today was 10.1 out of 12; yikes!), which first coated every surface, from plant to animal to man-made object, with a powdery golden glow that is now turning to a lustrous green mold on the sidewalks and patios, roofs and cars that didn’t get washed down before the rains finally fell yesterday and today to wash the grains away.

I’m very late getting the garden in shape this year, but considering I’ve completely missed the past two seasons completely because of illness, I’m not goingn to whip myself too hard; but there’ll be no new plantings this year.

Many of my beloved perennials have simply vanished, such as my 100 different varieties of yellow Daylilies (betcha didn’t know there were that many) that were arrayed in a semi-circle front of three large red Hibiscus (all of which froze to about a foot from the ground and had to be cut all the way back).

It doesn’t look like my Giant Elephant Ears survived; they’re usually about 3′ high by now.  None of the Anthuriums or Caladiums have broken soil, nor have I seen any Calla Lilies poking up their heads this year.

Heartbreakingly, my purple-flowered Crinums, with their fabulous scent, are nothing but mush (but those hideous giant grasshoppers loved them, too, and frankly I am a little afraid of THEM).

The Birds of Paradise got pretty scorched, but didn’t need to be too heavily pruned; however, the Areca Palm was nearly destroyed.  Being such a large clump of nearly ten years age saved it and there is a healthy amount of green in the center and even some of the larger trunks show healthy rings as high as 5′.  I had to prune it heavily, but I have high hopes it will recover if our next winter is not as severe as this one past.

The Orchid Tree survived, although it looks horrible.  The only nice thing about freezing and this tree is no blooms; yes, I did say this is “nice,” because although the purple orchid-like blooms attract hummingbirds, I have other flowers to do that and the blooms only last a day.  Then they drop off and large bean pods form, which literally !BURST! in the hot sun, shooting seeds hard enough to crack windows, clear across the yard!  And they all seem to germinate; all 3 million of them.  So the tree should be fully leafed out by summer, but the dogs won’t be dodging lethal projectiles and I won’t be out pulling up seedlings by the armful this year.  That’s nice!

On the happy side, the Periwinkle (Vinca) is blooming, as are some of the Walking Iris and African Iris, and of course the Azaleas are past their prime but continue to put forth more blooms.  The Crepe Myrtles are greening, the Jasmine is growing, and the Lirope and Mondo grasses are extremely healthy and actually overgrown.

I want to get some Hens-and-Chicks started in an old strawberry pot, and since getting a real witch’s herb garden started is out of the question, I’ll set up a container garden on the porch with a few basic herbs.  That shouldn’t be too stressful, once all the cleanup is completed.

The upshot of all this is that I over-did as I am wont to do when out and about in my faerie-loved garden and, with all the snarky pollen I inhaled, I’ve added sinus headaches to my depressingly long list of complaints [snarl].

So, here’s a witchy good bath salt for sinus headaches (doesn’t do a thing for my migraines, but that’s me):

3 cups Epsom salt
1 cup Dead Sea salt
1/2 cup dried peppermint
1/2 cup dried spearmint
40 drops peppermint essential oil
20 drops eucalyptus essential oil

Place the salts in a glass bowl and add the essential oils.  Using a metal spoon, stir a few times in a clockwise direction (deosil) to quickly incorporate the oils (if you place the oils on the dry herbs, it will be harder to incorporate thoroughly).  Grind the mints using a mortar and pestle, then sift them through a mesh kitchen strainer and add them to the salts. Using the metal spoon, stir the mixture in a clockwise direction (deosil), repeating the following charm, until all the herbs and oils are thoroughly integrated.

I weave this spell of witchery
To banish headaches far from me.

Store the salts in a glass jar and use a cup in the bath or a quarter cup in a basin/small sink.  When used in a basin/sink, use the hottest water you can, bend over the vessel, and breathe in the steam.  Because the herbs are powdered, I highly recommend you place your salts in a muslin bag before placing them into water.

Since I’ve really been in a bath salt mood lately, I also whipped up some “High Anxiety Bath Salts” (red jars below), “I Can, I Will Bath Salts” (yellow jars) and “I Can See! Bath Salts” (indigo blue jars); the Sinus Headache Bath Salts are on either side (that’s a purple flower faerie made by my friend, Rhia, sitting on the one on the right).

I also remembered I had picked up a large mesh ball (on the far right below) I intended to try as a substitute for the muslin bags, and fished it out from oblivion to give it a try tonight.  While it released into the water small bits of the dried rose petals in the mixture I used, I was pretty satisfied overall.  It was far easier to fill than the muslin bags (on the far left below), I wasn’t worried about the small particles clogging the drain, and the limited amount of small particles easily and quickly rinsed out of the tub.  So, if you see something like this, I encourage you to grab it.  If I remember where I found mine, or find one on the web, I’ll post a link.  Toodles!

salts-04

5 Responses to “My Green Thumb is a-Tinglin’!!”

  1. Marvin April 3, 2009 at 12:16 AM #

    I hope your garden turns out BEAUTIFUL!

  2. Marvin April 3, 2009 at 7:28 AM #

    I hope your garden turns out BEAUTIFUL!
    BTW I love your blog!

    • Faerie♥Kat April 3, 2009 at 7:16 PM #

      Okay, what do you want? How much is this going to cost me?

      BTW, I adore you, and your little blog, too!

  3. Nicole April 3, 2009 at 12:43 PM #

    I am sure your garden will turn out pretty. You’ll have to take some pictures for us 🙂
    I’m getting ready to go to the doctor again, I am taking your advice and having them check for psittacosis. Wish me luck, I just hope I get a different doctor at the walk in clinic, because the one I had on Monday was really grumpy and eager to go.

    *~Nicole.

    • Faerie♥Kat April 3, 2009 at 6:53 PM #

      I’m going to add you to my morning blessing ritual, with your permission,
      Nicole. Together, we’ll get this chest thing “off your chest!”

Comments are closed.

