Why is Cinryze So Expensive? — Correction

22 Jan

When I’m wrong, I’m wrong, and I’m not afraid to tell the world.

I managed to get myself, and quite a few other people, confused when I inadvertently misidentified the specific C1 Inhibitor products in my post and digest entitled, “Why is Cinryze So Expensive?”  Hey, it happens, and so does fixing one’s mistakes.

First, I want to clarify that LevPharma (now ViroPharma) funded and imported Cetor® during its Cinryze clinical trials for compassionate use by participants in emergency situations.

Second, I want to clarify that the product HAE patients imported was Berinert P and it was imported under the FDA’s Personal Importation Policy.

Third, I want to clarify that Cinryze has never been imported from Europe by HAE patients and did not, in fact, exist until it was approved by the FDA on 10 October 2008.

The product I remembered selling for approximately $800/vial ($1,600/dose) in 2005 in Europe and for $400/vial ($800/dose) through Argentina was Berinert P made by Aventis Behring (now CSL Behring), not Cetor.  One source shows Berinert P is currently selling for $764US/vial ($1,528/dose).  Berinert P has been available since 1985.  In 2007, Cetor® was about $750/vial ($1,500/dose) in Europe and “has long been used.”

This digest post was initiated as a result of a patient’s claim (and subsequent comparison to the current Cinryze price) that they had imported C1 Inhibitor for $350/vial from LevPharma.  Since I have shown this could not have happened, I think this is merely a misstatement and they are referring to Berinert P.

I apologize for the confusion and alarm, and beg your forgiveness and indulgence.  If any other errors of fact are apparent, please don’t hesitate to inform me and I will immediately take corrective action.

Have a swell-free day.

3 Responses to “Why is Cinryze So Expensive? — Correction”

  1. gt281 January 22, 2009 at 7:11 PM #

    And here I thought you were correct in all things,, all knowing,, never
    a mistake could you make…my world is in shambles now,, I can’t go on,,
    the stars in their heavens must be ready to fall….
    I see no hope…shattered,, all is undone….I need a drink……

    • Faerie♥Kat January 22, 2009 at 8:26 PM #

      Imagine how crushed I am! I hold myself in almost as high esteem as I hold your most holy self.
      My faerie wings have been stripped of all their magic dust and ground into the dirt!
      I am thoroughly disgraced. I’ll never be able to leave the house again.
      You might as well send Puff to immolate me, for life is no longer worth living!
      Oh, woe is me and alas and alack. *snert* Okay, I’m so over it…
      Send Puff down quick with a drink for me, too, ‘cuz it’s damn cold down here!
      There was actual frost on the ground this morning.
      Hot chocolate spiked with butterscotch schnapps should thaw me out.
      Mwah!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why is Cinryze So Expensive? « Faerie♥Kat’s Faerie♥Korner - January 22, 2009

    […] in red are corrections; see this post for explanations. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Lev Pharma Press Release of […]

Comments are closed.

