Popeye Never Had Spinach Like This!

20 Jan

I have been on a cooking spree.  At least, that’s what I call it when I cook fresh ingredients without the aid of a microwave oven more than twice in a single month.

Here’s my latest achievement:  Fresh, sauteed spinach prepared (as best I can guess) the way it is at Carrabba’s.  I love everything (except the pizza) at Carrabba’s, but I especially love their vegetable side dishes, to the point where I sometimes order two sides for dinner!

I couldn’t find a recipe, so I had to invent my own, which is my preferred operandi (the more I have to measure stuff and try to follow a recipe, the more it seems I tend to end up with a culinary disaster!).

I love garlic, so I peeled about 3/4ths of a head of garlic cloves and sliced them in half length-wise.  (I know, that’s a whole lotta garlic, but I did say I love garlic!)

I covered the bottom of my 12″ stainless steel saute pan (please don’t ask how someone who can hardly cook comes to own Wolfgang Puck’s entire line of cookware, it’s a mystery to me, too) with a thin layer of olive oil and sauteed the garlic over medium-high heat for about one minute.  Sizzle, sizzle!

Love My Puck Pan!

Love My Puck Pan!

I dumped in a bag of pre-washed spinach (and if you think I took the time to remove all the stems, you have no idea just how lazy I really am) into the pan, threw the lid on, removed the pan from the heat, turned the burner off, immediately removed the lid, and used a pair of tongs to toss the spinach until it had reached the “slightly wilted” state, but was still very emerald green (this takes less than a minute; be careful not to over-cook or you’ll end up with a nasty canned spinach-like mess).  Sizzle, sizzle!

A few cranks of the pepper mill, a pinch of sea salt, and a pinch of red pepper flakes, toss into a serving dish, add a few cranks of freshly grated Parmesan, and viola!  Dinner is served, and even the dogs will eat it (my gold stick measure of success).

As soon as I can get my hands on some nice, thin green beans or asparagus, or perhaps julienne some onions, sweet peppers, zucchini and yellow squash, I’m going to subject them to this same technique.  I love my vegetables al dente, with the “bite” still in them, which means their nutrients and vitamins are a bit more intact, and this cooking technique is so perfect.  It’s also fast, easy and a quick clean-up.  It just doesn’t get any better in my “cook book!”

Share/Save/Bookmark

4 Responses to “Popeye Never Had Spinach Like This!”

  1. Marvin January 20, 2009 at 4:23 PM #

    Sounds yummy! I am too lazy to eat spinach other than right out of the bag. It’s yummy that way also.

    • Faerie♥Kat January 20, 2009 at 4:27 PM #

      That sounds suspiciously like cheating–but now I know how Martians keep
      their blood so green LOL!

      > [Original Message]
      >

  2. Stacy January 21, 2009 at 10:16 AM #

    This sounds sooo yummy. I think I’ll go a little lighter on the garlic when I try it though. I hate the thought of breathing on my hubby and watching his nose hairs singe and fall out. LOL

    Seriously. It sounds mega yummy. I ADORE spinach!

    • Faerie♥Kat January 21, 2009 at 1:47 PM #

      Fortunately (or is it unfortunately?!), the only lovies I have to breathe
      on are the yup-pups, and they ate some garlic, too! The little chow-hounds
      will eat anything remotely edible; I think I may need a new yardstick for
      cooking success! Mwah!

      > [Original Message]
      >

Comments are closed.

