Republicans Interrupt My Toothbrushing

17 Jan

The Republican party called me yesterday and interrupted me while I was brushing my teeth. Now, those lucky few who read my blog know this is not a good time for anybody to call me, as this is when I do my best philosophizing.

The Republicans wanted to know if I considered myself to be most like a Republican, a Democrat, or an Independent. I told the caller I was a Democrat. I was very tempted to also tell them “and a Witch,” but the person on the other end of the line sounded so crushed, I simply couldn’t do it. Apparently, the day was not going very well in Republican World.

My train of thought having been thoroughly disrupted, I had to start a whole new one. I started thinking about the Republican’s “trickle-down theory.” Which led me to the recent hubbub in the news about Richard Piccoli and his “Ponzi scheme.” I realized both of these terms are just nice PR terms for the dreaded “pyramid scheme.” And then I remembered my father telling me, “Rich people are rich because they hold onto their money like it was glued to their fingertips.” I thought it was funny at the time, but then I recalled my experiences with “the Rich” when I lived in Newport, Rhode Island (more about that later).

First, I needed to be sure I truly understood the definition of “Ponzi scheme.” Finishing my ablutions, off I went to one of my favorite websites, Wikipedia, where “Ponzi scheme” is defined as follows: “A Ponzi scheme is a fraudulent investment operation that pays returns to investors out of the money paid by subsequent investors rather than from profit. The term, “Ponzi scheme,” is used primarily in the United States, while other English-speaking countries do not distinguish colloquially between this scheme and other pyramid schemes.” Bulls-eye!

Second, I needed to be sure I truly understood how the “trickle-down theory” was supposed to work. Back I went to Wikipedia: “‘Trickle-down economics’ and ‘trickle-down theory’ are terms of political rhetoric that refer to the policy of providing tax cuts or other benefits to businesses and rich individuals, in the belief that this will indirectly benefit the broad population. Proponents of these policies claim that if the top income earners invest more into the business infrastructure and equity markets, it will in turn lead to more goods at lower prices, and create more jobs for middle and lower class individuals. Today “trickle-down economics” is most closely identified with the economic policies known as Reaganomics or supply-side economics.”  Exactly as I thought, a Republican pet theory.

I enjoyed this description of “trickle-down economics:” “The economist John Kenneth Galbraith noted that ‘trickle-down economics’ had been tried before in the United States in the 1890s under the name ‘horse and sparrow theory’. He wrote, ‘Mr. David Stockman has said that supply-side economics was merely a cover for the trickle-down approach to economic policy—what an older and less elegant generation called the horse-and-sparrow theory: If you feed the horse enough oats, some will pass through to the road for the sparrows.’ Galbraith claimed that the horse and sparrow theory was partly to blame for the Panic of 1896.”

Let me share with you my observations of the trickle-down theory in action.

In the 1970s, when I was a secretary (and a damn good one) making about as much money as I’m collecting in annuity now (meaning I was as far from being rich as I could be), I was dating a clever electrical engineer who had built a small racing sloop with his father, raced it into a winner, and sold it for a moderate fortune. During the three years we dated, he and his father built another racing sailboat and were in the process of building it’s reputation. There was lots of money and it was an exciting time for him. He was more than a little overwhelmed by his nouveau riche status and it showed; he drove a Porsche, dressed extravagantly, gave expensive presents, and decided our “mutual activity” would be learning to play polo. On horses. Even though he had never been on one!

Now, I’m a very amiable person and I had no objections to learning to play polo. I wouldn’t have chosen it as a preferred activity, but I could ride both English and Western, and loved horses. So I learned to play polo on the grounds of the old stone Vanderbilt stables, which were magnificent, while he tried to learn to ride a horse.  He soon decided “we” needed our own horse and, viola, polo pony Canadian Chrome was soon ensconced in her own stall amongst the pampered polo ponies of the trust fund set.

If you know anything about polo, you know you need a string of ponies to play properly, but I wasn’t interested in playing polo properly (and I wasn’t ruthless enough to even play badly), and I quickly made friends with the stable hands and horse traders, as well as the trust fund set although I preferred the latter. I learned how to prepare the ponies for play, how to wrap their tails and legs, and took a great deal of pride and satisfaction in taking care of Crone (as I nicknamed her) myself. She was a pleasant quarterhorse to take on trail rides down to the beach and she liked to swim in the ocean. I would loan her to local girls in the 4-H to ride in obstacle course competitions and my boyfriend quickly lost interest in learning polo when he proved inept at simply learning to ride. The world of the stables and “the Rich” became my world alone and an interesting world it turned out to be.

Ah, yes, the Rich.  Champagne, caviar.  Yeah, all that.  They get all that stuff, but who pays for it?

There is a saying, “Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely.” Well, too much money corrupts the soul and absolutely corrupts the perception of reality. By the end of those three years, I knew I never wanted more money than I needed to be comfortable. The people I met who had more than that were so twisted out of their minds, as were the sycophants trailing behind them desperate to be just like them, you would be quite hard-pressed to squeeze any semblance of humanity out of their shriveled souls.

Some day I’ll write these people’s stories, true tales of horror. For now, it is sufficient to say I never spent more money on rich “friends,” buying lunches, dinners, snacks, drinks, etc., than on any other friends, because they conveniently never had any money even though they were the ones to invite me out to eat lunch, dinner, etc. They justified this as the only way to be sure you were a real friend, not just after their money! And to my way of thinking, also one way they stayed rich, if their “poor” friends were always footing their bills! They didn’t sucker me in for long, but there were always “fresh marks” of which to take advantage.

What was truly frightening, though, was their level of paranoia. It was more than unhealthy, it was actually psychotic and led to acts of brutality against those they considered to be their “inferiors.” What touched me most deeply of all, however, was their absolute sadness. There was not a happy one amongst them. All that money was nothing but a burden and not one cent of it had brought them any happiness. You could see the sadness and the madness in their eyes, and even I could see there was no way to save them. They could not survive without money and the money was killing them.

The next time you see a rich person wearing enviable clothing or jewels and driving a magnificent car, consider they might not have had to pay a cent for them.  One irony of being rich is rich people are given or loaned expensive items by companies and people who want their products to be seen being used or worn by rich people!  Most rich people are CHEAP.  They know the art of the deal and how to get something for nothing, and they’ve had a lot of practice.  There’s always the implied promise of “give this to me now and I’ll give you MORE in the future” (which somehow never materializes).  There are exceptions, but they’re so rare that the majority overwhelmingly over-rules them.  So, there they are, dining for free or at someone else’s expense at exclusive restaurants, scarfing down the champagne and caviar, while their mega-billions are busily making more money, destroying the financial market, and siphoning your money out of your pockets into theirs, where it will STAY FOREVER. The rich don’t own their money; they are owned by it and once it hits their money-greedy paws, they let go of as little of it as possible.  Money has them in its Death Grip, so waste no Envy on them and, if you can find it within yourself to do so, have Pity.

Today, 20% of the wealth of the United States is in the greedy paws 1% of the population, the metaphorical top of the pyramid, and cutting taxes on the wealthy so they’ll spend/invest more to create some shitty oats for us poor sparrows to peck at, down at the bottom of the pyramid, is pure horse shit.

Ah, the taste of Ponzi pyramid horse shit mendacity trickling into my toothpaste, makes me spitting mad.


Digg!

9 Responses to “Republicans Interrupt My Toothbrushing”

  1. LOUDelf January 17, 2009 at 6:08 PM #

    You must have some HUGE teeth to think of all of this while brushing them. You’re not a witch, you’re Mr. Ed!

    • Faerie♥Kat January 17, 2009 at 6:30 PM #

      Well, hello LOUDelf!

      I’m guessing you glossed right over the sentence starting, “Finishing my ablutions, off I went to one of my favorite websites..” in paragraph four. It’s a polite (and short) way to say, “I spit out my toothpaste, rinsed with mouthwash, spit that out, too, rinsed out my toothbrush and put it in the toothbrush holder that matches the soap dispenser, rinsed and cleaned the sink, wiped off those annoying toothpaste splatters that seem to be magnetically attracted to the mirror, rinsed my hands, took my rings out of the ring holder that matches the toothbrush holder, put the rings on, and off I went to one of my favorite websites…”

      Next time you visit my blog, I hope you will follow your own rules, which state, “This elf likes the free flow of ideas. But let’s stick to playground rules. If what you say on the playground will most certainly get you punched in the nose, keep it to yourself. Facts, links, thoughtful arguments, fiery debate are all welcome. But if you come here to harass, or be abusive, this elf will silently become BIGBADDELETEBUTTONelf. Let’s all be nice. I have an in with Santa!”

      I’m sending a copy of your comment to Santa and you can take up your unkind and unelfly behavior with him. I hope he smacks your @$$ with a candy cane and then punches you in the nose!

  2. LOUDelf January 17, 2009 at 10:27 PM #

    I played by m own rules, and don’t mind the smack. I just joined an affiliate program where I can lease sense of humor. Want in?

    Just havin some fun with you…

    • Faerie♥Kat January 18, 2009 at 2:19 PM #

      I think you should ask for a refund.

      Just throwing a little fun back…

  3. LOUDelf January 19, 2009 at 12:15 PM #

    I can get you a discount. I really think you should sign up.

  4. Marvin January 20, 2009 at 4:20 PM #

    Eat The Rich.

    • Faerie♥Kat January 20, 2009 at 4:26 PM #

      I would, but they leave a nasty after-taste; must be all that green ink and
      fibre!

      > [Original Message]
      >

  5. Starra ~ Rogue Faery Queen January 22, 2009 at 3:26 PM #

    I think best whilst in the shower. Or while as a passenger in our car.

    The rich getting richer whilst the poor get poorer all while the politicians line their coffers is not a surprise to this Faery Wytch0Y Womyn.

    I like how you laid it all out & I declare I needs must Seek Out these meanings to the
    Poly- ticks goings-on and Be Aware. *sighs*

    Sometimes just Living & breathing & doing the laundry are hard enough.
    Know what I mean dear Lady Faerie Kat?

    I always appreciate Your Thinking & Insights.

    Blessings Be & Faery Kisses.
    Starra )O(

    • Faerie♥Kat January 22, 2009 at 3:49 PM #

      Indeed I do, dear Starra!

      I do protest to myself some days I think too much.

      Fortunately, it seems to me my brain is shutting down much quicker these days and sending me off for lots of little naps.

      I find I have absolutely no objections to this!

      Lots of faerie hugz, my wytchyst of womyn friends,

      Kat

Comments are closed.

