Brushing My Teeth with John Edward

30 Nov

Although I brush my teeth every morning and every morning as I brush my teeth I have deep philosophical discussions with myself, I don’t always blog about those discussions, but sometimes I do.  When I do, it’s usually because I’ve come up with some interesting conundrum I think might interest my readers.  Here’s a nice example.

je_home

I occasionally watch reruns of the shows “Crossing Over with John Edward” or “John Edward Cross Country” late at night when I can’t sleep.  And I have to admit, I rather like the dude.  I think it’s because he never claims he’s talking to dead people.  They are “loved ones who have passed on,” to be sure, but he never hears voices; he sees symbols, which makes sense to me.  And he can be funny; I like funny.

John is billed as a physic medium.  Now, whether entities who have retained their identities after death are contacting John, or whether John is picking up deep-seated mental images and desires from his clients (given my belief in reincarnation, I’m leaning toward the latter rather than the former), is a moot point because either ability would be astounding.

However, I can’t help wondering why he never gets contacted by or picks up images from clients of really rotten and nasty “loved ones who have passed on.” I mean, chances are fairly high that (for those of you that believe in heaven) someone’s relative in any given audience had to wind up in hell, right?  And I’m thinking, those people down in hell probably have just as much to say to the living as anybody else.

Yet all of John’s “contacts” seem to have only nice, pleasant things to convey.  I’ve never heard John say, “It seems like the two of you really didn’t get along while he was alive, and he’s indicating he still hates you and pretty much blames you for the pain and agony he’s suffering through right now.  He’s showing me the sign that means he like to break your neck.”

Maybe he can block out vicious and hateful contacts or, as he’s scanning the minds of the audience, he can screen out dark subconscious thoughts like, “I better hear something from my two-timing son-of-a-bitch dead bastard husband, Joey, and it better be good!”

Oh, and did I mention that he’s just plain good-looking?  Good-looking, funny and makes a ton of money translating the symbols of dead people; no wonder I like the dude!


Digg!

6 Responses to “Brushing My Teeth with John Edward”

  1. Stacy December 1, 2008 at 11:10 AM #

    Actually, I like him too. I haven’t seen his show on in AGES, though. I also really like medium David Wells who does walk throughs on Most Haunted (not the most credible paranormal group, I know, but Wells is an amazing medium!)

    Anyhoo.. I get what you’re saying. The way I look at it though, is that while that very naughty person was a complete ass during his/her life, that doesn’t make the soul itself black. They could’ve chosen that demeanor as part of their learning process during their last lifetime. They could have chosen it as a tool, a life lesson, a view from the other perspective, as it were. That’s my take on it anyway.

    Mwah!

    • Faerie♥Kat December 1, 2008 at 3:44 PM #

      Not a bad premise, Stacy, and fits the karmic ideal and reincarnation philosophy quite nicely (I share it, by the way).

      But if mediums are really contacting entities after death, then the entities aren’t reincarnating (or perhaps they just haven’t reincarnated YET). Let’s assume they cease being wicked, mean, evil and nasty after they die, since that mode of demeanor (which was a life lesson) is no longer necessary, but my thought still remains that they never “come through” to apologize either!

      “I’m seeing the symbol that means your mom is really sorry she beat the shit out of you day and night and drank herself to death, and she hopes you get counseling real soon before you follow in her footsteps.”

      I’ve never heard John Edward translate something like THAT from a “loved one who has passed on!” And you have to admit, those kind of people exist and the odds of someone in the audience having a brutal relative in their past has got to be high (unless the show conducts FBI-like background checks to “cull the herd” beforehand, which I think is highly unlikely). So why are the “contacts” only filled with sweetness and light messages? Just doesn’t make sense to me because it doesn’t match reality.

      Brushing my teeth gets me thinking things like this. Weird, I know. Some mornings I think maybe I should skip brushing my teeth!

      Mwah!

  2. airelomeiel December 2, 2008 at 12:52 AM #

    You’re absolutely right, there. I really like Sylvia Browne’s interpretation of this type of situation.

    She suggests that each of us build our reincarnation from the other side. We plan all the details and do it in conjunction with others. I know it seems far fetched to assume that my soul and the soul of someone who flipped me off in rush hour traffic took the time to sit down and plan that scenario out, but it is an interesting viewpoint.

    If in a past life, I had a mother who beat the crap out of me, it was my intention to endure that pain, heartache, confusion, and everything else… just as it was her intent to learn from being ‘karma challenged’. (lol) Our paths crossed on earth to learn lessons from ourselves and each other.

    I truly believe there is no pain on the other side and the actual impact of it is forgotten when we leave this realm. All that remains are lessons, love, and fond memories of the souls we are now bound to on the other side.

    I completely see where you’re coming from, though, and if my little theory above holds no water, then I wonder the same as you.

  3. Stacy December 2, 2008 at 4:39 PM #

    oh, by the way.. I finally wrote on my wordpress about absinthe.. I promised to do it months ago and in true “me” fashion.. waited. LOL

    • Faerie♥Kat December 2, 2008 at 5:28 PM #

      Yeah! So glad you did this; I’m so curious. Will be over to read it ASAP!

      > [Original Message]
      >

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Teeth-Brushing Takes a Bite of the Medical Profession « Faerie♥Kat’s Faerie♥Korner - December 9, 2008

    […] Which brings me to the latest deep philosophical discussion I had with myself (that was worth blogging about) while brushing my teeth. […]

Comments are closed.

