My “Comment” Dreams Materialize – in Beta

24 Oct

WordPress announced today they are ready to beta test their new model for Comment Reply Via Email and I signed up. Can I scream Yippee? You betcha! I feel the mantle of bitchiness I’ve been wearing all day starting to slip away. And I’m thinking, this is a very good thing!

According to Heather and the video she posted, when you leave me a comment, it will be sent to me by email (so please be sure you type your email address correctly).

I will then be able to read your comment and reply directly to you from inside my email program (which happens to be a POS designed by Earthlink, but it gets the job done).

At some point, the reply that I send you will be automatically posted as a comment back on my blog, in the proper order within the string (or thread) of comments (Update:  Day Two and this is already happening!). This is very different from how Blogger/BlogSpot does it (there only those who have chosen to receive notification of posted comments will receive an email of any replies to their comment from the blog owner, as well as anyone else who leaves a comment, and the notifications are generated from inside Blogger vs an email program).

I still have hope that readers will be able to get notifications (just like on Blogger) when a new comment is posted so they can follow the discussion/string/thread without having to continually return to the post.

Time, of course, will tell and so far the WordPress group and their partners have been outstanding.

So start sending me lots of comments and we’ll see if what they’ve got so far works (and if we can bust it!) before I award them any Kudos.

Digg!

2 Responses to “My “Comment” Dreams Materialize – in Beta”

  1. gt281 October 25, 2008 at 5:54 PM #

    I don’t have an E-mail account,, I only have a D-mail account…
    Will that do?…..Yes I know I’m behind the times,, but alas and woe,, to sign up for an E-mail account I have to cross my moat and my moat is very wide. The ferryman says I have to pay him first before crossing…But I refuse to,, cuz I’ve heard tales that you’re not supposed to pay him,, else you’ll end up in a place you don’t want to be,, namely New Jursey….

    And Gary sure does have a lot of words in him,, he should write a book
    or something…….ha ha,, got past your comment block didn’t I?…

    • Faerie♥Kat October 25, 2008 at 6:19 PM #

      I wouldn’t ever want you to do ANYTHING that might get you in dutch with
      the ferryman. He might feed you to Cerberus, the three headed dog that
      guards the gates to NJ, and I’d have to follow him around with a
      pooper-scooper to retrieve you. I think I’d rather not!

      Yes, you sure did weasel your way around my ban, but since it’s you, I’ll
      let it stand. Maybe “Gary” should become a politician.

Comments are closed.

