Fingers Talk The Talk – McCain Is A Woman-Hater

24 Oct

Senator John McCain has no respect for women and the following, true life stories are only part of the multitude of reasons why I don’t want him (or his carrot on a stick, Governor Palin) to ever reach the White House.

Please take the time to read the complete blog posts of these real women and their heart-felt reaction to Senator McCain’s denigrating air quotes:

From Alexa at Flotsam:

McCain states that he would deal with the issue of abortion with “courage and compassion.” I quote: “the courage of a pregnant mother to bring her child into the world and the compassion of civil society to meet her needs and those of her newborn baby.” As if terminating my pregnancy would be the easy way out, the way not requiring his precious “courage.” As if dictating my medical care based upon his religious beliefs is compassionate. And I find it interesting to note that his “compassion” for this newborn does not extend to guaranteeing it health insurance.

And Julie from a little pregnant:

He means us when he holds up his hands and says with that single scornful gesture that we don’t matter. That we are a figment of the “pro-abortion movement’s” imagination. That — what, we’re making this whole “staying pregnant might kill me” thing up?

… even if you’re implacably, unconditionally opposed to abortion, a matter on which reasonable people disagree, I don’t see any way a thinking person can look at those air quotes and see anything but pandering, contempt, and a dangerous willful ignorance.

Or Cecily of UPPERCASE Woman:

I always thought of [McCain] as a smart, compassionate, and friendly person.

But when you discussed your feelings about partial birth abortion during the debate last night, your true opinions became clear to me. … When you discussed partial birth abortion and used quotes around the “health” of a mother, claiming that the idea of preserving a woman’s health has been “stretched” so that woman can just go ahead and abort babies willy-nilly whenever they want showed your true colors. You really ARE a small-minded anti-choice hater of women.

Watching you speak last night felt like getting punched in the face. I’ve become used to the rare individual being so callous and ill-informed; but to think a man so close to becoming the leader of this nation thinks so little of women like me–was just…God.

You clearly believe women like me–women who were horribly, horribly sick from their pregnancies but not yet dying–don’t deserve the medical care we need to help us heal. You may think this issue is about saving the lives of babies, but it’s not. It’s about preventing women from receiving necessary medical care.

…most of all, Senator, you do not even care about how much I loved my sons…only an hour before you spoke I was writing, once again, about the loss of my sons and how much it has changed my life.

Sometimes stupid IS really is as stupid DOES.  If you have any compassion in your soul, you won’t let this man prove just how stupid he really is on any more grand a stand than he’s already purchased with his wife’s millions, or give him the chance to destroy the life of one single woman with his moral bigotry and religious superiority.

I can’t think of a single thing that McCain has said that hasn’t made me roll my eyes, but this made me puke.  I’ve rolled my eyes at Obama a few times, but at least he hasn’t made my stomach turn and he never tried to curry favor by choosing an unvetted, unknown woman to run as his VP (just how stupid does McCain think US women are? just how stupid ARE women in the US if they fall for this?).

And please be advised that pro-choice does NOT mean pro-abortion!  Our next President must represent all our citizens EQUALLY and UNEQUIVOCALLY and those citizens who are breathing must be allowed make the decisions for those who reside within their bodies and have yet to breathe for themselves.  Until that first breath, they are “of the body” (as in MY BODY and MY UTERUS, not your body or your penis, McCain) and are not separate entities.

This is my rant and comments are not welcome, even if you agree with me (more so if you don’t, in which case I care even less to hear from you, go jaw at someone else).  I’m in a particularly bitchy mood and I’m not looking for company.

