Wing-A-Ding-Ding, the Faerie♥Kat Sings

21 Apr

The verdict is in and this lithe sylph, faerie spirit of the air, has somehow managed to poke a hole in her rotator cuff and contract a lovely case of shoulder tendinitis.

The most common symptoms of rotator cuff tears are:

  • Pain
    Often the pain is felt over the outside of the shoulder and upper arm. Pain while performing overhead activities (with the arm above head height) and pain at night are also quite common. When the condition is more severe, the pain may awaken patients from sleep. I should say so! The word “sleep” is no longer in my vocabulary.
  • Decreased strength
    Strength of the rotator cuff tendons can be tested by your doctor. By isolating the different tendons of the rotator cuff with special tests, your doctor can determine the extent of the tear. Significant rotator cuff tears may affect a patients ability to raise up their arm over their head. I suppose if someone were to tie a rope around my wrist, my arm could be hoisted up over my head, but only if someone were willing to endure ear-piercing and relentless screaming.
  • Difficulty with specific activities
    Patients often complain of difficulty performing activities such as combing their hair, clasping a bra behind their back, reaching behind their back, or sleeping on the affected shoulder. Just when the surgery on my back has finally healed and wearing a bra becomes a possibility again, I’m thrown back to putting one on like a twelve year old. My hair looks very nice on the left-hand side, so I only sit to the right of people. I’ve learned to put on shirts right arm first, and take them off left. Lying on my left side to try a sleep only leaves me with the conundrum of where to put my right arm, and when I roll over, all hell breaks loose!

The first steps of rotator cuff treatment include:

  • Physical Therapy
    Physical therapy is the most important step in the treatment of a rotator cuff injury. Strengthening the rotator cuff muscles is important to maintain normal shoulder function. A few meetings with a physical therapist can help teach you exercises to help alleviate and prevent a recurrence of your shoulder pain. Save your money and check out the exercises described by the American Academy of Family Physicians.
  • Anti-Inflammatory Medications
    Medications are most helpful at controlling the symptoms of a rotator cuff tear. Simple anti-inflammatory medications can be taken regularly for a short period, and then be used when symptoms of a rotator cuff tear flare up.
  • Cortisone Injections
    Cortisone injections can be incredibly helpful at limiting the acute inflammatory process and allowing the patient to begin therapy. It is important to participate in the therapy and exercises even if the shoulder feels better after an injection. The therapy part of treatment will help prevent a recurrence of symptoms.

I’ve got an appointment for early Friday morning to have my general physician (who does sports medicine) do the cortisone injection and figure out what anti-inflammatory medicine will mix with the lovely cocktail of colorful pills I have to stuff myself with morning and night to keep this hummingbird humming.

I sure do hope to be back to my blogging life by next week. I feel like I’ve been in a sensory deprivation tank hooked up to electric shock since early April. But mostly I’ve missed reading the blogs of all my favorite bloggers; you have no idea how HAE pain added to this shoulder fiasco has made even reading impossible.

Be Warned – Kat Will Soon Be Back!

Digg!

6 Responses to “Wing-A-Ding-Ding, the Faerie♥Kat Sings”

  1. gt281 April 21, 2008 at 5:51 PM #

    Well its about time you got up from your nap,, and
    found the keyboard…Puff was so worried about you
    his scales were starting to fall off…

    OK,, OK,, I was worried too…
    Nice to have you back……
    …gt281…

  2. Lorelei April 21, 2008 at 6:36 PM #

    So sorry your cuff is giving you grief! I know that can be terribly painful. Do you have problems with steroids? They gave me prednisone for my allergies for only five days and I bloated up like a balloon. It wasn’t fun. Hopefully that doesn’t happen with your anti-inflammatory meds. Feel better soon.

  3. Marvin the Martian April 23, 2008 at 7:39 AM #

    I know it’s extremely painful! I hope you feel better soon!

  4. Cheryl April 23, 2008 at 11:58 AM #

    OMG….I sure hope you will be feeling better asap. Had a back injury myself, but all better now. Take care and do not worry about anything, but getting better. xoxo

  5. Faerie♥Kat April 23, 2008 at 1:05 PM #

    Thank you so much, my dearest blogger friends! Just touching the keyboard sends shooting pains down my arm to the tips of my fingers, but I wanted you all to know how very much I adore each and every one of you. I’m going to have to make a “Best Show of Friendship and Support of a Slightly Nutty Faerie Witch Award” as soon as I’m functional!

    I’m getting new long distance and reading glasses by the end of the week (yeah!), so hopefully “headache hell” will also be vanquished and I’ll be tearing through your blogs like fire through dry kindling. Life is going to be getting better, I can feel it in the one remaining bone that doesn’t hurt!

    Mwah, Mwah and and one more Mwah!

    And the faeries send kizzes, also!

  6. Marvin the Martian April 28, 2008 at 7:04 AM #

    Pain proves that you are still alive. 😉 I hope you feel better!

Comments are closed.

