Kat’s Neck Is Not In A Noose

11 Apr

In 1997, I had sharp pains running down my left arm and thought I had pinched a nerve in my shoulder. So my GP sent me for a MRI and then to a neurosurgeon. My neurosurgeon, based simply on what I told him about the pain and location, told me the problem wasn’t in my shoulder, it was in my neck. Now let’s look at your MRIs and I’ll prove it. And prove it he did. I had a disk so herniated that the two vertebrae it was supposed to keep apart were sitting on each other and had very nearly severed the nerves running down my left arm. Needless to say, surgery was scheduled and two years of many types of post-surgery rehabilitation later, my left arm and neck revived. Unfortunately, within a year of my anterior cervical fusion, complete with titanium plate, I began to have the same symptoms in my right arm. There was significant narrowing but not enough to warrant surgery (yeah!) yet (say what?), and thankfully the symptoms in my right arm were sporadic and more of a nuisance than a hindrance for ten years. Which brings us to the present.

I saw my neurosurgeon today because my right arm starting hurting majorly in January. Since the last 3 times they peeked at my neck, they did CT with myleograms (which leave you with killer migraines and the pain is cumulative), I was in no hurry to seek treatment. But my GP snagged me for my physical and weaseled the truth out of me and, after conferring with the neurosurgeon and finding out my plate is titanium, found out I could have a regular MRI and by-pass the myleogram (yeah!). So, with MRI in hand after a 45 day wait, I tell him about the pain and where it is located (which is exactly like the left arm), and he tells me the problem is NOT my neck but my shoulder! WTF? We look at the MRIs and my neck is a railroad wreck, my disks are deteriorating and bone spurs are blooming like flowers along with arthritis, but there’s no one place that is bad enough for surgery or to be the cause of the pain in my arm. I need to get a MRI of my shoulder and consult an orthopedic surgeon. The only help he gave me was to change my nerve pain med to Lyrica, which seems already to be working better than Neurontin.

I’m pissed that it took this long to eliminate my neck as the source of the continuous “toothache” pain accompanied by “ice pick to the funnybone, but I ain’t laughing” pain zapping down my arm whenever I move or try to use my arm (and sometimes when I don’t), but uber happy that my neck is not going to get cut open again.

Now all I have to worry about is whether or not

Kat’s Wing Is In a Sling

9 Responses to “Kat’s Neck Is Not In A Noose”

  1. gt281 April 11, 2008 at 9:53 PM #

    and here i thought i had pains
    from the hospital visit of mine…
    ..hang in there,, i need you around to
    keep Puff in line and to judge my
    cooking of the English language…
    if there’s one thing I know,, its that the pain
    pills that make you fly are the good ones…
    order lots and lots of those….
    …and the ones that mother gives you
    do nothing at all….
    …mmmwwwaahhhh….
    ….gt281…..

  2. Lorelei April 12, 2008 at 12:15 AM #

    Wow, what an ordeal! I’m glad your neck won’t have to be cut open again. Surgery is never any fun. I take that back: I would have done cartwheels if I could have after my hysterectomy.

  3. Cheryl April 13, 2008 at 10:57 AM #

    I am so sorry to hear about all this Kat. Damn doctors!!!! I am having back problems for the first time in my life and am being treated like A hypochroniac. Nothing showed on x-rays so off to physical therapy for two weeks stafting Tuesday. Doc will only give me motrin for pain and that is not helping. I certainly hope you can get your problems straightened out. xoxo

  4. Red April 13, 2008 at 11:01 PM #

    Oh Honey! *hugs* You poor thing! On top of everything else! Sheez. Lots of well wished in your direction!

    Love, Hugs & No Swell!

  5. Gwen April 14, 2008 at 6:55 AM #

    Oh Kathryn – I’m SO sorry… 😦
    What a nightmare! 😦
    I can’t stand doctors and my experiences with them are nothing compared to yours – it’s a miracle you haven’t started knocking some heads together yet… (Oh, if you do decide to do that, give me a call and I’ll come help you!) And with all this pain and aggravation, you still manage to worry about and care about other people… Try to hang in there – I’ll be sending faerie blessings your way.
    Hugs,
    Gwen

  6. Marvin the Martian April 14, 2008 at 1:04 PM #

    I’m so sorry your doc is jerking you around. I know it’s a rare malady that you have…but when doctors do that, it’s nice to have a second or third or fourth opinion. I’m glad you changed your pain meds – I have known people who went psychotic and murderous on Neurontin.

    Feel better!

  7. Faerie♥Kat April 14, 2008 at 10:27 PM #

    I want to thank you all for your support and caring comments. I am not able to stay on the computer very long and what little time I can manage has to be spent on
    managing finances, etc.

    I am going through some serious blogging withdrawal!!

    I am so blessed to have met and made wonderful friends like you. Knowing you are here, waiting to make me laugh and think, is really what keeps me going.

    Faerie love and hugz

    Kat

  8. Catz April 15, 2008 at 11:00 AM #

    Hey Kat you have to get better real soon us Kats have to stick together 🙂
    Sending you good healing thoughts from Canada !

    Catz

  9. Marvin the Martian April 16, 2008 at 5:30 PM #

    O…K… t…i…m…e… t…o… l…e…a…r…n… t…o… t…y…p…e… w…i…t…h… y…o…u…r… b…i…g… t…o…e… 😉

    Feel better!

Comments are closed.

