Lemon Study

12 Feb

Ruh-roh! Because I can’t drink alcohol, carbonated beverages or caffeine, I’m pretty limited as to what I can order when I eat out, so I usually just get ice water with lemon. Well, looks like I’m now down to ice water and next they’ll find out that the ice and water is contaminated and I’ll be back to bottled Perrier.

Thx Gary!

Digg!

6 Responses to “Lemon Study”

  1. gt281 February 12, 2008 at 6:26 PM #

    I think the key word in the video was “potential”…
    Doesn’t everything have the “potential” to make you sick?…

    Perrier comes in bottles?… I thought it only came out of my
    kitchen faucet…What will they think of next?….

  2. Mama Kelly February 12, 2008 at 7:49 PM #

    Oh damn! I love those lemon wedges…….

    Even those are spoiled now

  3. Faerie♥Kat February 12, 2008 at 8:23 PM #

    Hi Mama Kelly

    I was thinking, maybe order 2 glasses of water, or tea and glass of water, with lemon on the side, dip and finger scrub the wedges in the extra glass of water to clean them off best as can be, and viola! Worth a try. Can’t say as I’ve ever been poisoned by a lemon wedge, but now just the thought of any “ick” possibly creeping around on my lemon wedge just grosses me out.

    Kat

  4. Faerie♥Kat February 13, 2008 at 4:10 PM #

    My friend, Bob, makes some good points (received via email):

    Yeah, given that our entire world is inhabited with bacteria, this isn’t surprising. The fact that people get their panties all in a twist over all this is simply the fact that they haven’t the foggiest idea about the difference between make-believe and reality – from a scientific point of view.

    I’m not saying everyone should wipe their ass with a lemon wedge, I’m just saying that ‘fecal bacteria’ can be found in the air we inhale and, therefore, on most surfaces in the home and at work. And I’m not saying we shouldn’t wash our hands and practice basic sanitation, however, if people had some basic scientific education they might realize that exposure to most everyday bacteria is the way life is, and that to expect everything to be completely ‘sterile’ is a bit unrealistic.

    There is a growing body of scientific evidence that indicates that our western cultures obsession with sanitation may be the cause of most, if not all, of the current epidemic of immune deficiency diseases. Surprisingly, the third world populations aren’t having these problems.

    Go play in the dirt!!! Kiss your dog!!! Hug a friend!!! 🙂 bk

    I’m still not over the gross factor, but I feel a whole lot better knowing that the possibility of a kamikaze lemon wedge doing me in is highly improbable.

  5. Jess February 20, 2008 at 1:11 PM #

    Hello! 🙂 Hope you are having a fabulous day!

    Quick question regarding your posting…… where did you find the studys at?

    …….”There is a growing body of scientific evidence that indicates that our western cultures obsession with sanitation may be the cause of most, if not all, of the current epidemic of immune deficiency diseases. Surprisingly, the third world populations aren’t having these problems..”

  6. Faerie♥Kat February 20, 2008 at 1:56 PM #

    Hi Jess

    I believe that my friend Bob is referring to the increased use of anti-bacterial soap and hand sanitizers, which in both his and my opinion has become rather an obsession with a great many people. The problem with these products is that overuse has been proven to lead to the development of resistant bacterial strains, which could potentially lead to bacterial outbreaks for which there no treatment. While I cannot quote specific studies, I visited the Federal Department of Health and Human Services and found the following using the search terms “overuse of antibiotics and antibacterial”: http://www.tufts.edu/med/apua/Patients/antibact/antibact.html

    According to years of news reports, these products are not as widely used outside the US and they simply are not available in third world countries, where outbreaks of common and known bacteria continue unchecked, but mutated, resistant strains are rarely encountered.

    Bendithion

    Kat

Comments are closed.

