Why I Blog About SBS

23 Jan

I received this email response today from a woman who did not understand or appreciate my reply to a comment she left on my blog. I’ll not reply to her by email because she’s patently refused to engage in polite discussion regarding our differences of opinion, but I feel that there are some issues (see the brackets) that, irregardless, need to be addressed.

WOW, for someone who isn’t “pulling any punches with me” you certainly did a good job. Perhaps I may have come off a bit harsh…but the reality of it is people die everyday[7a]…babies, children, adults, geriatrics etc…I have a child myself and would be completely devastated if anything were to happen to her, while I can’t possibly understand what that family must be going through…i CAN certainly imagine.

My post was not in any way, shape, or form directed towards that family…and I’m pretty sure the family isn’t reading your site[1]… because if they were you wouldn’t have had to go digging[2] for facts. That’s my point though isn’t it? That people like you[7d] waste valuable time and energy with concerning yourselves with other peoples affairs[3]. This is one reason if not THE reason why people who want to be informed about current events around the world can’t get any decent coverage from the main stream media[4] because you people[7d] have created such a demand for real life soap operas[7e] that it is now being broadcast by what is supposed to be the NEWS…And don’t even think about responding to me that stories like this are news…because f*** off[7c], no it isn’t…it’s [7a]bloody LIFE…people are born….people die…some have good lives…some have horrible lives[7f] etc..etc.. so on and so forth.

While I still have compassion towards others… and believe it or not I do …I know that I need to worry about my family…not every other family down the street[5][7b]…and PART of taking care of MY FAMILY is knowing what is going on in the world around me so that perhaps I can make the best informed decisions possible[6].

You are sadly mistaken when you ASSUME[7] you know i have “deep wells of hurt and anger”. I’m pissed off, yes….but I’m not hurt. I’m pissed off at the ignorance of people such as yourself[7d] who help create a market for things such as reality tv and celebrities in the news[4] etc…

If you want to care about something…try caring about our economy[6] (assuming you are american)…or the war in Iraq[6] and the potential war with Iran[6]…etc…these things will effect you personally or perhaps are effecting you personally…I dunno…nor do I care[7]…..Just wake up[8]…if you wanna make a difference…posting other peoples tragedy on your own website isn’t doing a damn thing except helping to create further distractions for sheep[7e]. baaaaah![7e]

p.s. no need to reply…as I will not read anymore of your foolishness[7e].

  1. The family is reading my blog and appreciate the manner with which I have dealt with this topic, which she would have known if she’d bothered to read all of the posts. I am in email contact, but I choose not to bother the family during their period of mourning and I allow them to contact me as they see fit.
  2. This implies that the information I have presented on my blog was buried and difficult to find. It has all been a matter of public record and easily accessible. There is no dirt under my fingernails at all.
  3. I am not “concerning myself with other people’s affairs.” I am educating the public about a very real problem: child abuse and one of its more deadly forms, Shaken Baby Syndrome. Although one family’s tragedy was the impetus for my campaign to institute reforms in this area, I continue to monitor what happens to the family because it is important for people to know the consequences of SBS. Of course, if she had read all of my posts or even looked at their titles, this would have become quite self-evident.
  4. I know for a fact that I don’t have that much power and influence. I wish that I did, because I would have already gotten the Shaken Baby Syndrome Prevention Act of 2007 passed into LAW! Also, I don’t watch TV; in fact, my friends know this and have to call me when there are hurricane and tornado warnings so I can prepare my home. I will confess that I am an addict to classic movies and even new releases from NetFlix, and sometimes friends will convince me to put a TV series in my queue, like the Dresden Files, because I won’t have to watch commercials. Reality TV, soap operas, celebrity news? Nope, not me.
  5. I completely disagree. We need to start worrying about the family next door and the family down the street. Americans (yes, I’m an American, with a capital A) are becoming more and more isolated and insular and this is psychologically unhealthy. The “me and mine only” behavior this woman is espousing is that of a sociometric isolate. Psychologically healthy individuals engage in sociometric interconnectedness, and the ones that spend time having substantial encounters with others are the most successful, happy and healthy.
  6. She makes the mistake here, as she made the mistake previously, that no one who reads my blog cares about what is going on in the world. I read and research a great deal about current events and I have many contacts in all of the military services, various branches of the Federal service, and several CEOs of leading military industrial companies as a result of my 25+ years as a negotiator for the United States Navy. So just because I do not choose to blog about my opinions with respect to current events because they may be flavored by privileged information, never make the assumption that I do not have any. Having held a Top Secret security clearance during the whole of my career, I tend not to share information of this type and I keep my opinions to myself.
  7. I never assume anything. I carefully read what is written and then I used empathy to place myself in the writer’s state of mind. She can deny it all she wants, but based on [a] her callous attitude towards the deaths of other human beings, [b] her desire for isolation, [c] her foul language, [d] her rabid need to fix blame for societal ills on individuals, [e] her resort to childish cliches, and [f] her nihilistic pre-determination that human lives are “good” or “horrible” with no indication that she would willingly lift a finger to change someone’s “horrible” life, that’s not just anger. Someone somewhere treated this woman in a way that destroyed her trust and belief in humanity, and that is Hurt, wicked, cruel and deep. Too bad she is so willing to perpetuate it, just like the abused become abusers.
  8. I’m not Sleeping Beauty, I’m very much awake. I will jest and say that I hope she is just a bad dream.

Just as when you don’t like what’s on TV, turn the channel or turn it off; if you don’t like the way I run my blog or the things I write about, close your browser, go somewhere else, or write your own blog. I’m not flavored to everyone’s taste and you’re welcome to spit me out, but you are not welcome to chew me up first. I don’t bite, but I do talk back.

Digg!

5 Responses to “Why I Blog About SBS”

  1. Catz January 31, 2008 at 10:10 PM #

    Wow – Good for you Faerie Kat you just went up a notch in my books girl! Thanks for fighting for those who can’t!

  2. Faerie♥Kat January 31, 2008 at 10:43 PM #

    Thanks, Catz; you rate ten paws in my book, too! We kittens pack a powerful meow!

  3. Mom2Bri March 7, 2008 at 4:30 PM #

    Hi FaerieKat,

    I’ve read so much of this blog since this happened. This issue has been so near and dear to my heart because I have a daughter who is one month younger than what London would have been. She is the love of my life, she is another reason for me to be, her smile just lights up my life. I could go on and on but I’ll spare you all my sappiness. 🙂

    I just wanted to thank you so much for all the work that you’ve done regarding educating the public about this case. This story just broke my heart and I weep for all the babies and children who have gone through abuse.

    You have done such an awesome job, a very fair job of reporting what happened and giving us all things to think about.

    Something I had wanted to comment about and it wasn’t on this particular page. It is possible to determine the time that London had undergone the abuse, and the question was whether it occurred under Jessica or Joshua’s watch. All the info that I have found about this indicates that they found healing rib fractures. Since fractures follow a certain “timeline” in their healing, it is very possible to pinpoint when these fractures happened and who was taking care of London at the time of injury. Just some info about me to give some credibility, I have a degree in speech-language pathology (lots of anatomy and physiology), I am a certified nursing assistant, I’ve worked as a doula (a professional childbirth assistant) for the past 10 years, and I was on my way to nursing school when I got pregnant with my little girl.

    Once again, I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate the work you have done on this story. May your life be richly blessed.

    Mom2Bri (Kath)

  4. Faerie♥Kat March 7, 2008 at 6:33 PM #

    Hi Kath

    Thank you very much for your kind support.

    I did blog a post about fractures in infants (https://faeriekat.wordpress.com/2007/12/31/fractures-in-infants/).

    It seems to me also that the ME should be able to at least give an approximate timeframe for when the fractures initially occurred.

    I would hope, if any charges of child abuse/abandonment/neglect were going to be brought against Jessica, they would have done so long before now, but I’m not sure how quickly charges like these would be processed or handled in WI.

    May the faeries bless you and your little darling

    Kat

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Results of Jessica Sherwood Court Appearance Today « Faerie♥Kat’s Faerie♥Korner - March 5, 2008

    […] post info By Faerie♥Kat Categories: Abuse, Child and Drugs Tags: London Marie Sherwood, Shaken Baby Syndrome One of the reasons that I continued to f0llow the legal troubles of Jessica Sherwood was because I was concerned for the emotional welfare of this young woman, who so tragically lost her daughter, London Marie, to SBS last year. I was also interested to see what, if anything, would come from the statements and reports made that London Marie had partially healed fractures to her ribs, and if Jessica would ever be charged of child abuse, child abandonment, or child neglect. I am not saying that Jessica is responsible for London Marie’s fractured ribs, but someone is; however, is may not be forensically possible to determine when the fractures occurred (i.e., before or after Joshua Schaak took custody of London Marie — or as some people insist, before or after Jessica Sherwood abandoned London Marie). I also am documenting the effects of SBS on those that must live with the consequences. If you need additional rationale about why I have blogged about this case, click here. […]

Comments are closed.

