Thistle Me This

20 Jan

In the language of flowers, the thistle (like the burr) is an ancient Celtic symbol of nobility of character as well as of birth, for the wounding or provocation of a thistle yields punishment. For this reason the thistle is the symbol of the Order of the Thistle, a high chivalric order of Scotland.

Another story is that a Viking attacker stepped on one at night and cried out, so alerting the defenders of a Scottish castle. Whatever the justification, the national flower of Scotland is the thistle – specifically Onopordum acanthium, the Scots thistle. It is found in many Scottish symbols and in the names of several Scottish football clubs.

I create my own banners and I’ve fooled around with digital art for many years, using flowers from my garden. Here’s another interesting specimen to brighten a chilly winter day and remind us that spring is on it’s way.

Digg!

3 Responses to “Thistle Me This”

  1. Starra ~ The Faerie Queen February 6, 2008 at 6:19 PM #

    I am of the Douglas Clan on my Mum’s side of the family.
    It has been said without the Douglas Clan there would be no Scottish histroty! (I like that one of course! *twinkling eyes full of mischief*

    I love your Scottish Thistle it is so Vibrant & well, Lovely.

    I have seriously considered combining an Irish Celtic Symbol with the Scottish Thistle in a Tattoo form.To show my Irish & Scottish bloodlines.

    With your Artistic Gifts dear Faerie Kat perhaps I should have you brainstorming for me.
    *big Faerie winks & grins*

    Blessings Be,
    Starra

  2. Faerie♥Kat February 6, 2008 at 7:36 PM #

    Hi Starra

    Thank you, dearest, for your kind words and encouragement.

    May the Douglas Clan’s history be with us forever!

    Faerie hugz and kizzes

    Kat

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Periwinkle Twinkle « Faerie♥Kat’s Faerie♥Korner - January 21, 2008

    […] and I’ve fooled around with digital art for many years, using flowers from my garden. Here’s another pretty specimen to brighten a chilly winter day and remind us that spring is on it’s […]

Comments are closed.

