Hippeastrum to You

16 Jan

Hippeastrum is a genus of about 70-75 species and 600+ hybrids and cultivars of bulbous plants in the family Amaryllidaceae, native to tropical and subtropical regions of the Americas from Argentina north to Mexico and the Caribbean. Some species are grown for their large showy flowers. These plants are popularly but erroneously known as Amaryllis, an African genus in the same family.

I create my own banners and I’ve fooled around with digital art for many years, using flowers from my garden. Here’s another cheery specimen to brighten a chilly winter day and remind us that spring is on it’s way.

Digg!

5 Responses to “Hippeastrum to You”

  1. Red January 17, 2008 at 12:27 AM #

    So pretty!

    One of these days I’ll have to get my arse down much further South to see your pretty garden!

    **hugs**

    Lots of love and no swell!

  2. Faerie♥Kat January 17, 2008 at 12:32 AM #

    Thank you, sweetie!

    Bring the other 2 arses with you when you do.

    Be well and don’t swell!

    Hugz

    Kat

  3. Red January 17, 2008 at 6:35 PM #

    Which other two arses are you talking about?

    **totally confused and feeling like I’m left out of my own inside joke**

  4. Faerie♥Kat January 17, 2008 at 8:25 PM #

    Meggie and G, you arse! Smack!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Star Light, Star Bright, Give Me A Stargazer Lily Tonight « Faerie♥Kat’s Faerie♥Korner - January 17, 2008

    […] and I’ve fooled around with digital art for many years, using flowers from my garden. Here’s another cheery specimen to brighten a chilly winter day and remind us that spring is on it’s […]

Comments are closed.

