“I Am”

2 Jan

I had a hard time tracking down this article, which has stayed in my mind and which I’ve used to train so many people since reading it in Redbook sometime in August.

The name of the article is “Find Your Balance” by Rebecca Davis. This is the only thing I’ve ever read by or about Deepak Chopra, so I have no opinion to offer on the man or any of his books or other teachings. But if what he offered in this short article is any indication, I might pick up something of his someday.

Mind and body are the same thing. Your body is the battleground of the wars that you wage against yourself in your mind. If your consciousness is perturbed, then your body will be, too. If you’re an uptight person, your body will be tight. But if you’re coming from a place of openness, everything in your world will reflect that.

[…]

[Influence over our bodies] comes from a quiet mind, not from a so-called positive mind. A lot of people try to be positive all the time, but they’re not, and they become tiresome to themselves and others. They get so stressed about trying to be positive and think positively that they do more damage. A quiet mind is much more realistic. You just exist without getting caught up in the drama around you. The drama is where most of people’s fatigue and energy loss come from.

[…]

Meditation is a good way to [become “centered”] because it helps you to be more mindful. First of all, don’t try to get rid of the voices in your head. Struggling against the thought is a thought itself. Instead, close your eyes and repeat a phrase. The simplest is “I am.” When you have other thoughts, just gently come back to the phrase. Think “I” as you breathe in, and “am as you breathe out. If you do that for 10 to 15 minutes daily, every time a thought comes, you’ll be more still.

[emphasis added]

This is, by far, the easiest and fastest meditation technique I have ever come across and I can teach it to someone who has never meditated in their life in less than one minute; I just call it a breathing exercise. People get so stressed out when they hear “meditation.” You can use it “on the fly” or in a prepared environment. Try it; I think you’ll like it.

One Response to ““I Am””

  1. quotesqueen December 19, 2008 at 6:34 PM #

    Love this–thanks!

Comments are closed.

