The Twelve Days of Haiku

3 Dec

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

christmasbranch.gif
The Twelve Days of
Haiku

naturline.gif

bare branches of pear
uplift arms coated in ice
pretty partridge home

naturline.gif

two sit side by side
cooing coyly one with one
soft grey turtle doves

naturline.gif

hens flown from far France
gilded gold in filigree
three’s good company

naturline.gif

singing merrily
four birds in a silver cage
calling out the hours

naturline.gif

upon my right hand
golden rings are gently placed
one on each finger

naturline.gif

laying round the clock
great geese mothers guard their young
six against the world

naturline.gif

necks entwined in love
mating for eternity
seven swans alone

naturline.gif

behold eight maidens
unblemished skin as creamy
as the milk they skim

naturline.gif

hoar frosted snowfield
made for ladies’ dancing
nine for every night

naturline.gif

leaping candlesticks
ten lords have lost decorum
sliding down the stairs

naturline.gif

windows wide open
eleven elven pipers
faerie fifes do play

naturline.gif

twelve drums pound the beat
the last days of the Yule end
exhausted, all sleep
christmasbranch.gif
©2007
Faerie♥Kat
All Rights Reserved

divider.gif

 

4 Responses to “The Twelve Days of Haiku”

  1. Gwen December 5, 2007 at 5:14 PM #

    Wow – this is incredible! I’ve tried my hand at haiku, and I can’t believe you got the 12 days of Christmas into this form, and so elegantly and with such powerful visual imagery!

    So, my one haiku is an off-color climbing verse. First, you have to know some climbing jargon. Rock climbers use gear with names like “friends”, “cams”, “nuts”, and “hexes” when they climb outdoors, and a climber’s complete collection of gear is called a “rack”.

    Okay, here’s my haiku:

    Ill-equiped to climb
    Jealous glances at her rack
    Longing for some nuts

    Ta-da! 😉

  2. Faerie♥Kat December 5, 2007 at 5:19 PM #

    Hi Gwen

    A double double entendre and a haiku, rolled into one — too fun!

    Luv it!

    Kat

  3. Saje April 15, 2009 at 10:37 PM #

    I love this poem!
    Imagery and grace combined;
    Beautifully done.

    • Faerie♥Kat April 16, 2009 at 12:10 AM #

      I had completely forgotten this set of haikus, can you believe that?! I wrote this for a poetry competition a friend was running on MySpace and whipped it up in about a half hour. Sometimes the Goddess is gracious. I read through it just now and I have to admit, it’s pretty damn good! It did win the contest, too. So, thanks! Thank you very much. I obviously need to re-read this blog myself and kick my own butt back into doing something that might actually make some money.

      Hugz

      Kat

Comments are closed.

