The Christmas Fire

28 Nov

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

THE CHRISTMAS FIRE

The snow lies thick on the ground outside,
The wild winds have at last slowed and died.
The starry sky is both clear and wide,
It’s Christmas time in the countryside.

Cedar logs pack my Grandfather’s shed,
And their scent completely fills my head.
We gather the logs that will be fed
To the fire before we go to bed.

Kindling lights off the very first match,
The logs join in and the flames soon catch.
Grandmother’s bread is about to hatch,
Spread with the last apple butter batch.

Hear the sap pop and watch the sparks fly,
Up the flue they go to meet the sky.
Heat toasts my feet and they soon are dry,
Happiness like this you cannot buy.

©2007
Faerie♥Kat
All Rights Reserved

divider.gif

 

6 Responses to “The Christmas Fire”

  1. gt281 November 28, 2007 at 10:20 PM #

    Nice…. good thing you live in Orlando…I just got mybill for filling up my propane tank,, way up here where theYeti roam…its cold out dar….the paramedics did a goodjob of shocking me back from the light…now all I have todo is sell my first born son to pay off the propane bill….You wouldn’t want a gnome child rug rat would you?…They make good door stops….

  2. The Faerie♥Kat November 29, 2007 at 12:26 PM #

    Can you block drafts or generate electricity? If so, come on down. My blood’s thinned over the years and I get chilly when the sun don’t shine. And bring Puff; we’ll roast some marshmallows!

  3. Anonymous November 29, 2007 at 8:41 PM #

    Wonderful poem! I am thankful we have forced air heat and don’t have to fill the propane tanks! The cost of keeping warm definitely has risen but reading your writing definitely warms the heart! Thank you for sharing! Sand in WV

  4. The Faerie♥Kat November 30, 2007 at 12:03 AM #

    Thanks, Sand; you’re such a sweetie! YOU warm MY heart!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Christmas Tree That Was Bigger Than Me « Faerie♥Kat’s Faerie♥Realm - December 3, 2007

    […] two categories: Poetry and Short Story.  I won the Short Story category (I entered my poem, “The Christmas Fire,” and then responded to someone else’s entry about live Christmas trees with the […]

  2. The Christmas Tree That Was Bigger Than Me « All That Glitters Is Faerie♥Dust - December 4, 2007

    […] two categories: Poetry and Short Story. I won the Short Story category (I entered my poem, “The Christmas Fire,” and then responded to someone else’s entry about live Christmas trees with the […]

Comments are closed.

